Roasted Sweet Potato Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This is an awesome recipe - so yummy. I used a hand pureer just before serving was the only change I made - oh and used yams as the store was out of sweet potatoes. Tracey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
We enjoyed this, and it didn't take as long as the stated prep time; it was actually fairly easy. I made a few changes: olive oil, yellow onion, no white potato or celery. I think the potato is meant to thicken the broth, because mine was fairly thin, so I simmered it with the lid off, then threw in about 1/4 of the roasted sweet potato and blended it. Great flavor and a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I had a recipe for Sweet Potato Corn Chowder from my great grandmother and can't find it so I looked on this site and after reading the reviews I think I can tell you what the missing ingredient is. As I recall, according to her recipe, it is "fat back," aka a slab of bacon, that is diced, rendered in the pan and the drippings from that are used to cook the other ingredients. I know, not the healthiest, but you only need a small, 4" X 4" X 1.5" block and it really enhances all the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I love this soup. I did make a few changes. I use canned corn, added an extra sweet potato and left out the bay leaf. I also added pea's. It is so easy to make and taste great. I bring it to work for lunch all week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Thank you to everyone who posted suggestions to make this the perfect chowder. I made it for a luncheon, and doubled the recipe. I used 8 cups of broth, 1 canned creamed corn, and 1 can kernel corn. I also added about a teaspoon of red pepper flakes. Doubling the sweet potatoes took about 80 minutes to cook well. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
OMG! This has got to be the best soup I've ever made/tasted. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
In general the soup was quite good, but I did find that it was too sweet for my taste. Next time I would use more regular potatoes in the puree part and a lot less pureed corn. I would mostly use just the corn kernels. I think that would cut down on the sweetness. And I would use chicken broth instead of vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jammari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winkler, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This is an easy recipe that tastes great and is healthy too. The only things I did different were: used olive oil, fresh thyme, no celery, and a yellow onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
With a few modifications our version was delicious! I used a can of creamed corn in place of corn puree and a can of whole corn in the end. I ended up using an extra cup of broth to total 4 cups and there was enough liquid. I also doubled the potato to 2. At the end I used dried parsley in place of fresh and a bit of salt and pepper to spice it up. It was a hearty soup that is great for Fall or anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springville, Utah, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This soup was too sweet - with the sweetness of the sweet potatoes and then the corn. There wasn't really any other flavor going on, just the overwhelming sweetness. I agree with the other reviewers who said that something was missing... I might try to take what's left and add a lot more stock and maybe some other veg, in effort to cut the sweetness down. UPDATE: I made the recipe to a 'T' and wasn't happy with the results, so the next night I browned some fresh good-quality chorizo (from pork shoulder), then added two cups chicken stock, crushed red chili flakes, chopped cilantro, and the juice of 1/2 a lime. I simmered that for about 30 minutes. I then added the remainder of the original soup to my new mixture. The result was fabulous, we all agreed, and I would make the second version again. I understand, however, that this is nothing close to the original recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States