Roasted Sweet Potato Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Delicious! I found this recipe after doing an ingredients search because I needed to use up some sweet potatoes. The only thing I didn't have was the tomato paste so I tossed in a (mostly drained) can of Rotel figuring the tomatoes would be a good sub and the chiles would add a little spice. I also added a can of white beans just because, why not?! :) Based on other reviewers comments, I added extra vegetable broth (4 cups instead of 3) to make it more of a soup than a stew. The Rotel gave it the perfect little kick and even my 13 year old who initially said, "ew, too many vegetables" ended up eating two big bowls. Will make this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Although this recipe came out AMAZING (I was on the phone with my mom after eating and my boyfriend yelled into the phone- "Candy, your daughter can COOK!!!"), I'm giving the recipe a 3 because it was a solid base but needed some extras to really be tasty. Used 4 cups of vegetable stock instead of 3. I included everything already in the recipe, but after the soup boiled and then simmered for 25 minutes, I then added ground sage (which I *highly* recommend; it really added a great fall flavor), more pepper and salt, about 3/4 or 1/2 cup of light cream, and Siracha (hot sauce) to taste. The result was spectacular. After finishing his bowl, my boyfriend was literally spooning it straight out of the pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
My family loved this! I'm vegetarian, but my family isn't, so I have a hard time finding things that they'll eat that I can, too. I made a couple of tweeks, I upped the broth to 4 Cups, decreased the celery to 1 cup, and left out the thyme and bay leaf because I didn't have any and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
We love this soup! Have been meaning to review it for a couple of years now. To save time, I will usually roast the sweet potatoes either earlier in the day, or the night before. Then it's a snap to put together. A very satisfying, healthy dish. Thank you, Mellie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Yum! I love it made w/ chicken broth and also about a 1/2 tablespoon of red pepper flakes (which surprisingly brings out a LOT of spice). Oh, I also omit the celery, shallot, and tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Meh. Wouldn't make again without some alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seekonk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
So good, so easy, and so good as leftovers. Pureeing the corn gives it great texture. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
So very, very yummy! I made a couple of modifications based off of what I had on hand. I will list them below. I sprinkled a bit of cayenne pepper on the sweet potatoes prior to roasting them to combat the sweetness. I used white onion, instead of red. I used Chervil instead of thyme, because somehow I am out of thyme. I also omitted the shallots, simply because I didn't have any. My husband raved and raved about this chowder. It will definitely being going into the recipe book! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rozekitten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
would be nice to add in the directions not to mix up the cubed potato and the sweet potato(when its time to put the first potato in the pot). i ended up having to mic a cubed potato and then wasnt able to do the 20min simmer because i'd put the sweet potatoes in in error. needed to not have one more thing to wash so skipped the pureed corn bit. next time will reduce some liquid and add cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Followed the other recommendations and used can of creamed corn. Some might want to use more liquid than recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockyTrax

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yankton, South Dakota, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States