Roasted Sweet Potato Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I love this soup. I did make a few changes. I use canned corn, added an extra sweet potato and left out the bay leaf. I also added pea's. It is so easy to make and taste great. I bring it to work for lunch all week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Very tasty! I had to make some modifications to fit what I had in the pantry, so my version was only gluten free, not vegan or dairy free. I did not have shallots or red onion, but yellow onion and 2 cloves of garlic tasted fine to me. No corn oil either, so I used extra virgin olive oil. I substituted chicken broth for the vegetable broth. No frozen corn on hand, so I used 2 cans of the green giant super sweet niblets, drained. I still reserved one cup, but pureed the rest, which was about 6 oz more corn than the recipe called for. But really, what can more corn hurt? :) Right before serving I put in somewhere between 3/4 and 1 cup of heavy cream. Not exactly sure as it was whatever was left in the container and I didn't think to measure before I dumped it in. It was good before I did that, it was over the top after the cream! I was wishing I had some shrimp to throw in there too, but not this time. Oh, and I just realized I didn't put in the parsley!!! Oh well!! Definitely a keeper and good enough for company. One suggestion is to roast 3 sweet potatoes, because they were good enough to eat like candy so not all of them made it into the soup. Oops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Really great flavor! I followed the recipe but adjusted it to our taste by: I used 1- 1/2 sweet potatoes, roasted; added about a 1/2 can of drained corn at the end (I wanted a bit more);I also boiled a small, white potato along with the other 1/2 of the sweet potato then pureed it in the blender with a bit of chicken stock for a thickener. We wanted a thick soup tonight. I didn't have veg. stock, so used a carton of chicken stock... Really yummy!! We'll all enjoy this recipe!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This was a fantastic cold weather soup. Tasty and savory, it was a great meal to eat next to the fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Wonderful for a chilly fall dinner! I had never had roasted sweet potatoes as prepared in the recipe, so the soup was a little short of sweet potatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
OMG! This has got to be the best soup I've ever made/tasted. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Thank you to everyone who posted suggestions to make this the perfect chowder. I made it for a luncheon, and doubled the recipe. I used 8 cups of broth, 1 canned creamed corn, and 1 can kernel corn. I also added about a teaspoon of red pepper flakes. Doubling the sweet potatoes took about 80 minutes to cook well. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I had a recipe for Sweet Potato Corn Chowder from my great grandmother and can't find it so I looked on this site and after reading the reviews I think I can tell you what the missing ingredient is. As I recall, according to her recipe, it is "fat back," aka a slab of bacon, that is diced, rendered in the pan and the drippings from that are used to cook the other ingredients. I know, not the healthiest, but you only need a small, 4" X 4" X 1.5" block and it really enhances all the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This is an awesome recipe - so yummy. I used a hand pureer just before serving was the only change I made - oh and used yams as the store was out of sweet potatoes. Tracey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Wow - this soup is going to be a regular addition. Followed the recipe exactly (except for adding a little bacon salt). The sweet potatoes are key to this dish. Perfect for fall/winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetaria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States