Roasted Sweet Potato Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
OMG! This has got to be the best soup I've ever made/tasted. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
In general the soup was quite good, but I did find that it was too sweet for my taste. Next time I would use more regular potatoes in the puree part and a lot less pureed corn. I would mostly use just the corn kernels. I think that would cut down on the sweetness. And I would use chicken broth instead of vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jammari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winkler, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This is an easy recipe that tastes great and is healthy too. The only things I did different were: used olive oil, fresh thyme, no celery, and a yellow onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
With a few modifications our version was delicious! I used a can of creamed corn in place of corn puree and a can of whole corn in the end. I ended up using an extra cup of broth to total 4 cups and there was enough liquid. I also doubled the potato to 2. At the end I used dried parsley in place of fresh and a bit of salt and pepper to spice it up. It was a hearty soup that is great for Fall or anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springville, Utah, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This soup was too sweet - with the sweetness of the sweet potatoes and then the corn. There wasn't really any other flavor going on, just the overwhelming sweetness. I agree with the other reviewers who said that something was missing... I might try to take what's left and add a lot more stock and maybe some other veg, in effort to cut the sweetness down. UPDATE: I made the recipe to a 'T' and wasn't happy with the results, so the next night I browned some fresh good-quality chorizo (from pork shoulder), then added two cups chicken stock, crushed red chili flakes, chopped cilantro, and the juice of 1/2 a lime. I simmered that for about 30 minutes. I then added the remainder of the original soup to my new mixture. The result was fabulous, we all agreed, and I would make the second version again. I understand, however, that this is nothing close to the original recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Wonderful for a chilly fall dinner! I had never had roasted sweet potatoes as prepared in the recipe, so the soup was a little short of sweet potatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was good, not fabulous, though. Recipe was followed exactly, and family ate it. But they didn't rave or ask for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crandall, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Very tasty, perfect for fall! I blended mine partly with a hand blender, as I like my flavours to mingle. I agree it could use a little kick - I might add some red pepper flakes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I thought the flavour was delicious! The only problem was that there was not nearly enough liquid, especially the next day after more was absorbed. Next time I will double everything except for the potatoes and add green beans and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I was a little disappointed in this recipe. There was not nearly enough liquid, and he end result was nothing like a chowder. It wasn't even like a stew, it was more like a hash. It tasted pretty good (I agree w/ the first review that it was missing something, couldn't figure out what), but it just tasted like a bowl of potato and corn hash browns to us. I will probably play around with the recipe, adding more broth, perhaps creamed corn instead of frozen, and maybe some half and half. Thanks for the great idea, but we didn't love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States