Roasted Sweet Potato Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Meh. Wouldn't make again without some alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seekonk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
So good, so easy, and so good as leftovers. Pureeing the corn gives it great texture. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
So very, very yummy! I made a couple of modifications based off of what I had on hand. I will list them below. I sprinkled a bit of cayenne pepper on the sweet potatoes prior to roasting them to combat the sweetness. I used white onion, instead of red. I used Chervil instead of thyme, because somehow I am out of thyme. I also omitted the shallots, simply because I didn't have any. My husband raved and raved about this chowder. It will definitely being going into the recipe book! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rozekitten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
would be nice to add in the directions not to mix up the cubed potato and the sweet potato(when its time to put the first potato in the pot). i ended up having to mic a cubed potato and then wasnt able to do the 20min simmer because i'd put the sweet potatoes in in error. needed to not have one more thing to wash so skipped the pureed corn bit. next time will reduce some liquid and add cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Followed the other recommendations and used can of creamed corn. Some might want to use more liquid than recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockyTrax

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yankton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This was excellent and so easy! I roasted the sweet potatoes whole (make sure to line oven w/ foil) at 450 for about an hour and then added to the other ingredients that I already had simmering for a while. I didn't have celery, used regular onion and garlic, no tomato paste and chicken broth. I also did not add a potato or parsley. Very nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
A keeper! This is a delicious recipe and full of good veggies! A yummy veggie meal! Very filling. The only thing I will change the next time would be to cut back substantially on the dried thyme as it was somewhat overpowering. Otherwise perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary h.
Home Town: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
An incredibly satisfying soup perfect for a wholesome vegetarian meal on a cold night. I added about half a cup of toasted peanuts on top to add some crunch. I will be keeping this recipe as a staple from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by birdmadgirl7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
This soup is great--very flavorful and easy to work with! I made this before and added large chunks of tomato; I made it last night and added two huge cloves of garlic (my family loves garlic), substituted the vegetable broth for chicken broth, and added about 2 pounds of turkey ham to give it some extra protein. This soup is great, not only by the recipe, but it's also easy to work with/adapt for what you have in your kitchen. I get compliments every time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This is a really yummy soup that is also fairly healthy. It's easy to prepare and smells heavenly while cooking. Might add a bit more liquid next time and there's no way that it serves 10 in my family. But those are tiny things. 2nd time changes - Added an additional cup of vegie broth, substituted 1 zucchini, chopped, for celery and added it at the same time as the onion. Added mix of cornstarch and vegetable broth for thickness. Doubled the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States