Roasted Sweet Potato Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Very tasty! I had to make some modifications to fit what I had in the pantry, so my version was only gluten free, not vegan or dairy free. I did not have shallots or red onion, but yellow onion and 2 cloves of garlic tasted fine to me. No corn oil either, so I used extra virgin olive oil. I substituted chicken broth for the vegetable broth. No frozen corn on hand, so I used 2 cans of the green giant super sweet niblets, drained. I still reserved one cup, but pureed the rest, which was about 6 oz more corn than the recipe called for. But really, what can more corn hurt? :) Right before serving I put in somewhere between 3/4 and 1 cup of heavy cream. Not exactly sure as it was whatever was left in the container and I didn't think to measure before I dumped it in. It was good before I did that, it was over the top after the cream! I was wishing I had some shrimp to throw in there too, but not this time. Oh, and I just realized I didn't put in the parsley!!! Oh well!! Definitely a keeper and good enough for company. One suggestion is to roast 3 sweet potatoes, because they were good enough to eat like candy so not all of them made it into the soup. Oops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This was a fantastic cold weather soup. Tasty and savory, it was a great meal to eat next to the fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Wonderful for a chilly fall dinner! I had never had roasted sweet potatoes as prepared in the recipe, so the soup was a little short of sweet potatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
OMG! This has got to be the best soup I've ever made/tasted. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Thank you to everyone who posted suggestions to make this the perfect chowder. I made it for a luncheon, and doubled the recipe. I used 8 cups of broth, 1 canned creamed corn, and 1 can kernel corn. I also added about a teaspoon of red pepper flakes. Doubling the sweet potatoes took about 80 minutes to cook well. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I love this soup. I did make a few changes. I use canned corn, added an extra sweet potato and left out the bay leaf. I also added pea's. It is so easy to make and taste great. I bring it to work for lunch all week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I had a recipe for Sweet Potato Corn Chowder from my great grandmother and can't find it so I looked on this site and after reading the reviews I think I can tell you what the missing ingredient is. As I recall, according to her recipe, it is "fat back," aka a slab of bacon, that is diced, rendered in the pan and the drippings from that are used to cook the other ingredients. I know, not the healthiest, but you only need a small, 4" X 4" X 1.5" block and it really enhances all the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This is an awesome recipe - so yummy. I used a hand pureer just before serving was the only change I made - oh and used yams as the store was out of sweet potatoes. Tracey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Really great flavor! I followed the recipe but adjusted it to our taste by: I used 1- 1/2 sweet potatoes, roasted; added about a 1/2 can of drained corn at the end (I wanted a bit more);I also boiled a small, white potato along with the other 1/2 of the sweet potato then pureed it in the blender with a bit of chicken stock for a thickener. We wanted a thick soup tonight. I didn't have veg. stock, so used a carton of chicken stock... Really yummy!! We'll all enjoy this recipe!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Wow - this soup is going to be a regular addition. Followed the recipe exactly (except for adding a little bacon salt). The sweet potatoes are key to this dish. Perfect for fall/winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetaria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States