Roasted Sweet Potato Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Very tasty! I had to make some modifications to fit what I had in the pantry, so my version was only gluten free, not vegan or dairy free. I did not have shallots or red onion, but yellow onion and 2 cloves of garlic tasted fine to me. No corn oil either, so I used extra virgin olive oil. I substituted chicken broth for the vegetable broth. No frozen corn on hand, so I used 2 cans of the green giant super sweet niblets, drained. I still reserved one cup, but pureed the rest, which was about 6 oz more corn than the recipe called for. But really, what can more corn hurt? :) Right before serving I put in somewhere between 3/4 and 1 cup of heavy cream. Not exactly sure as it was whatever was left in the container and I didn't think to measure before I dumped it in. It was good before I did that, it was over the top after the cream! I was wishing I had some shrimp to throw in there too, but not this time. Oh, and I just realized I didn't put in the parsley!!! Oh well!! Definitely a keeper and good enough for company. One suggestion is to roast 3 sweet potatoes, because they were good enough to eat like candy so not all of them made it into the soup. Oops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
this was fairly easy to make, very tasty and relatively healthy. couldn't find corn oil in the store, so just used vegetable oil b/c i couldn't find my olive oil. it was very flavorful and a nice combo for fall. one thing it could have used was a little kick. i put a few splashes of tabasco in my bowl, which was good, but not sure that was exactly what it needed. my husband thought white pepper may have done the trick. definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
If you like sweet potato you will love this soup. I used about 1.5 sweet potatoes (mine were huge!) and they took about 30 min to roast, but next time I will probably chop them into smaller cubes which should reduce the cook time. I added some hot sauce to mine, which kicked up the flavour just a bit. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This soup was too sweet - with the sweetness of the sweet potatoes and then the corn. There wasn't really any other flavor going on, just the overwhelming sweetness. I agree with the other reviewers who said that something was missing... I might try to take what's left and add a lot more stock and maybe some other veg, in effort to cut the sweetness down. UPDATE: I made the recipe to a 'T' and wasn't happy with the results, so the next night I browned some fresh good-quality chorizo (from pork shoulder), then added two cups chicken stock, crushed red chili flakes, chopped cilantro, and the juice of 1/2 a lime. I simmered that for about 30 minutes. I then added the remainder of the original soup to my new mixture. The result was fabulous, we all agreed, and I would make the second version again. I understand, however, that this is nothing close to the original recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
With a few modifications our version was delicious! I used a can of creamed corn in place of corn puree and a can of whole corn in the end. I ended up using an extra cup of broth to total 4 cups and there was enough liquid. I also doubled the potato to 2. At the end I used dried parsley in place of fresh and a bit of salt and pepper to spice it up. It was a hearty soup that is great for Fall or anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springville, Utah, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I was a little disappointed in this recipe. There was not nearly enough liquid, and he end result was nothing like a chowder. It wasn't even like a stew, it was more like a hash. It tasted pretty good (I agree w/ the first review that it was missing something, couldn't figure out what), but it just tasted like a bowl of potato and corn hash browns to us. I will probably play around with the recipe, adding more broth, perhaps creamed corn instead of frozen, and maybe some half and half. Thanks for the great idea, but we didn't love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilMama84
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This is delicious! I boiled the sweet and regular potato together in the vegetable broth and mixed in one can of regular corn, undrained, and one can of cream style corn. I thinkened it up with some shredded cheese melted in at the end. The family begged me to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I thought the flavour was delicious! The only problem was that there was not nearly enough liquid, especially the next day after more was absorbed. Next time I will double everything except for the potatoes and add green beans and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This was excellent and so easy! I roasted the sweet potatoes whole (make sure to line oven w/ foil) at 450 for about an hour and then added to the other ingredients that I already had simmering for a while. I didn't have celery, used regular onion and garlic, no tomato paste and chicken broth. I also did not add a potato or parsley. Very nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
This soup is great--very flavorful and easy to work with! I made this before and added large chunks of tomato; I made it last night and added two huge cloves of garlic (my family loves garlic), substituted the vegetable broth for chicken broth, and added about 2 pounds of turkey ham to give it some extra protein. This soup is great, not only by the recipe, but it's also easy to work with/adapt for what you have in your kitchen. I get compliments every time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States