Roasted Sweet Potato Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
this was fairly easy to make, very tasty and relatively healthy. couldn't find corn oil in the store, so just used vegetable oil b/c i couldn't find my olive oil. it was very flavorful and a nice combo for fall. one thing it could have used was a little kick. i put a few splashes of tabasco in my bowl, which was good, but not sure that was exactly what it needed. my husband thought white pepper may have done the trick. definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
If you like sweet potato you will love this soup. I used about 1.5 sweet potatoes (mine were huge!) and they took about 30 min to roast, but next time I will probably chop them into smaller cubes which should reduce the cook time. I added some hot sauce to mine, which kicked up the flavour just a bit. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Very tasty! I had to make some modifications to fit what I had in the pantry, so my version was only gluten free, not vegan or dairy free. I did not have shallots or red onion, but yellow onion and 2 cloves of garlic tasted fine to me. No corn oil either, so I used extra virgin olive oil. I substituted chicken broth for the vegetable broth. No frozen corn on hand, so I used 2 cans of the green giant super sweet niblets, drained. I still reserved one cup, but pureed the rest, which was about 6 oz more corn than the recipe called for. But really, what can more corn hurt? :) Right before serving I put in somewhere between 3/4 and 1 cup of heavy cream. Not exactly sure as it was whatever was left in the container and I didn't think to measure before I dumped it in. It was good before I did that, it was over the top after the cream! I was wishing I had some shrimp to throw in there too, but not this time. Oh, and I just realized I didn't put in the parsley!!! Oh well!! Definitely a keeper and good enough for company. One suggestion is to roast 3 sweet potatoes, because they were good enough to eat like candy so not all of them made it into the soup. Oops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This was a fantastic cold weather soup. Tasty and savory, it was a great meal to eat next to the fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I was a little disappointed in this recipe. There was not nearly enough liquid, and he end result was nothing like a chowder. It wasn't even like a stew, it was more like a hash. It tasted pretty good (I agree w/ the first review that it was missing something, couldn't figure out what), but it just tasted like a bowl of potato and corn hash browns to us. I will probably play around with the recipe, adding more broth, perhaps creamed corn instead of frozen, and maybe some half and half. Thanks for the great idea, but we didn't love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I thought the flavour was delicious! The only problem was that there was not nearly enough liquid, especially the next day after more was absorbed. Next time I will double everything except for the potatoes and add green beans and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Very tasty, perfect for fall! I blended mine partly with a hand blender, as I like my flavours to mingle. I agree it could use a little kick - I might add some red pepper flakes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was good, not fabulous, though. Recipe was followed exactly, and family ate it. But they didn't rave or ask for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crandall, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Wonderful for a chilly fall dinner! I had never had roasted sweet potatoes as prepared in the recipe, so the soup was a little short of sweet potatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This soup was too sweet - with the sweetness of the sweet potatoes and then the corn. There wasn't really any other flavor going on, just the overwhelming sweetness. I agree with the other reviewers who said that something was missing... I might try to take what's left and add a lot more stock and maybe some other veg, in effort to cut the sweetness down. UPDATE: I made the recipe to a 'T' and wasn't happy with the results, so the next night I browned some fresh good-quality chorizo (from pork shoulder), then added two cups chicken stock, crushed red chili flakes, chopped cilantro, and the juice of 1/2 a lime. I simmered that for about 30 minutes. I then added the remainder of the original soup to my new mixture. The result was fabulous, we all agreed, and I would make the second version again. I understand, however, that this is nothing close to the original recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States