Roasted Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by moxxus
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
WOW this soup is amazing! I followed the recipe exactly, except that i ran out of veg broth and had to use 1 cup chicken broth. I was able to puree everything in my vita-mix in 2 batches, quick and easy. 45 minutes was the perfect time for the squash to roast for me. the tops were nice and caramelized and the flesh spooned right out. There is a wonderful balance of sweet and savory in this soup. Don't leave out the Cayenne, i used about 1/8 tsp and it's not spicy at all just gives a little extra oomph to the curry. I'm going to take the advice of other reviewers and freeze some and add goat cheese when serving. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
It was so good. Using all three kinds of squash is key. I used Cullinary broth with curry flavor. It gave it an "indian" flair. Really good but I cut back the curry to about 1/2. Yum. My family thought is was a little too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Perfect!! Love this- I freeze this soup so I can have it all the time-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turlock, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
interesting mix of flavors - apples & sherry, squash, etc. Loved it, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by afarris73
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
AMAZING. I am eating my second bowl right now, with rosemary potato bread. Perfect blend of spice from cayenne, ginger, and garlic combination. Can be made vegan easily by substituting oil for butter. I used sweet apples instead of tart because that's what I had on hand, will try green next time :) COMPLIMENTS TO THE CREATOR!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This is absolutely GREAT- I can't give this recipe enough praise. I used only spaghetti squash. It wasn't tender at 45 minutes so I flipped it over and broiled for another 5 minutes until it started to caramelize on top. It still wasn't done so I had to finish it in the microwave- another 5 minutes. [I cook a lot of spaghetti squash and have found the easiest way to cook them is leave them whole, pierce a few times with a knife and bake at 350 for and 1 hour. When it's cool enough to handle, cut it in half and scoop out the flesh.] I only had marsala wine and it worked well with this dish. I also added 1/2 tsp turmeric. Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gonefishn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
This soup was awesome. I roasted a butternut and 2 types of acorn squash, sauteed onion with garlic, added a good heaping Tbsp of red thai curry paste and cooked that for a minute, poured in a can of coconut milk and added a medium sized yam to the pot. I forgot to bake it with the squash. Topped up with water to cover peeled and chopped squashes, added 2Tbsp chicken Better Than Bouillon paste, a splash of Kirsch as I didn't have any Sherry or wine in the house and some black pepper and a pinch of red pepper flakes. Added 2 chopped apples (Gala & Ambrosia)and cooked until they were soft. Puréed soup in batches. Served soup with banana slices in soup bowl and a dollop of reduced fat sour cream on top. Yummy! A bit of an Asian twist on this curry soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Loved this! Used all butternut (adjusted amount to account for all three types of squash) and chicken broth as that was what I had on hand but otherwise followed this recipe to the letter. High marks from me, my husband and our 3-year-old son as well. A crowd pleaser for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reddoerr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Really yummy. I had some leftover roasted squash (butternut and acorn) and turnip in the fridge, and this was a great way to use it up. I'm not sure I used the exact same ratios as the recipe calls for, but it's just soup, so I'm not sure it matters. :) Love the curry flavor, and the sherry. And the little bit of cayenne. I added a dollop of greek yogurt, and ate it with a nice hunk of bread. Really tasty....highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Very tasty, especially with some goat cheese sprinkled on top. I would use fewer apples next time because they made it a little too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States