Roasted Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This was incredible. I used a bunch of different squashes from my CSA and 1/2 tsp. hot curry powder and 1/2 tsp. garam masala. Also added 1/2 cup heavy cream right before serving. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This was very good and it's a good thing because I was working with a 15.4# butternut squash (only). I increased all the ingredients x5 except kept the apples at 2. Nice autumn recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Bland and I don't think there's much I can do with my level of experience to make this better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canmore, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moxxus
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
WOW this soup is amazing! I followed the recipe exactly, except that i ran out of veg broth and had to use 1 cup chicken broth. I was able to puree everything in my vita-mix in 2 batches, quick and easy. 45 minutes was the perfect time for the squash to roast for me. the tops were nice and caramelized and the flesh spooned right out. There is a wonderful balance of sweet and savory in this soup. Don't leave out the Cayenne, i used about 1/8 tsp and it's not spicy at all just gives a little extra oomph to the curry. I'm going to take the advice of other reviewers and freeze some and add goat cheese when serving. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
It was so good. Using all three kinds of squash is key. I used Cullinary broth with curry flavor. It gave it an "indian" flair. Really good but I cut back the curry to about 1/2. Yum. My family thought is was a little too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Perfect!! Love this- I freeze this soup so I can have it all the time-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turlock, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
interesting mix of flavors - apples & sherry, squash, etc. Loved it, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by afarris73
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
AMAZING. I am eating my second bowl right now, with rosemary potato bread. Perfect blend of spice from cayenne, ginger, and garlic combination. Can be made vegan easily by substituting oil for butter. I used sweet apples instead of tart because that's what I had on hand, will try green next time :) COMPLIMENTS TO THE CREATOR!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This is absolutely GREAT- I can't give this recipe enough praise. I used only spaghetti squash. It wasn't tender at 45 minutes so I flipped it over and broiled for another 5 minutes until it started to caramelize on top. It still wasn't done so I had to finish it in the microwave- another 5 minutes. [I cook a lot of spaghetti squash and have found the easiest way to cook them is leave them whole, pierce a few times with a knife and bake at 350 for and 1 hour. When it's cool enough to handle, cut it in half and scoop out the flesh.] I only had marsala wine and it worked well with this dish. I also added 1/2 tsp turmeric. Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gonefishn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
This soup was awesome. I roasted a butternut and 2 types of acorn squash, sauteed onion with garlic, added a good heaping Tbsp of red thai curry paste and cooked that for a minute, poured in a can of coconut milk and added a medium sized yam to the pot. I forgot to bake it with the squash. Topped up with water to cover peeled and chopped squashes, added 2Tbsp chicken Better Than Bouillon paste, a splash of Kirsch as I didn't have any Sherry or wine in the house and some black pepper and a pinch of red pepper flakes. Added 2 chopped apples (Gala & Ambrosia)and cooked until they were soft. Puréed soup in batches. Served soup with banana slices in soup bowl and a dollop of reduced fat sour cream on top. Yummy! A bit of an Asian twist on this curry soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States