Roasted Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
My husband and I loved this. I used buttercup (not butternut) squash only, used homemade applesauce that I had lying around instead of cooking and pureeing apples with sherry (this speeded up the process), and added buttermilk, cinnamon, nutmeg, and ground black pepper. Roasting the squash makes all the difference!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
Very yummy- would be good on a crisp autumn or winter evening. I made the soup with only roasted acorn squash and it was very good; I'm sure it would be even better with butternut squash. This recipe is very flexible: I used chicken broth instead of vegetable stock; I didn't have any tart apples, so I eliminated them from the recipe; and I used white wine instead of sherry. I also didn't have curry powder and added a different aromatic Indian spice called garam masala. Don't be afraid to add a lot of cayenne, or to double the recipe (make sure you have a big pot though). The overall dish is not too spicy or Indian flavored; rather, it is warm and creamy with very little fat. The wine or sherry really add flavor. It's an easy recipe if you have a food processor to puree everything. Make a salad while the squash roasts (perhaps with some figs, nuts and crumbled cheese) and cut up a hearty loaf of bread. When you serve the squash soup, you could even add a dollop of some cheese. I sprinkled on parmesan, but a creamier cheese like goat or cream cheese would compliment the texture of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
This soup is absolutely delicious and as one poster said "very flexible". I followed the recipe with all the required ingredients and added more sherry as was also suggested. I also added two hot chili peppers that I chopped finely and sauteed with the onions, etc. I was generous with the other spices, too (left out cayenne pepper). It is delicious with a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
I adapted this based on what I had at home & it came out VERY good. I used one delicata squash, cut in half & cooked (face down) with some water on the bottom of the pan about 40 min. I also used 2 sweet potatoes--peeled, cut into 1" squares, and cooked in the microwave with some water until soft, about 10 minutes each. I used one apple & one pear. I used only 4 cups vegetable broth--I got the fifth cup of liquid from the stuff with the sweet potatoes. Lastly, I used white wine rather than sherry. If you like sweet & spicy soups, you'll like this a lot. One more thing: the prep time is more than 10 minutes, more like 25.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tiburon, California, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
Excellent taste. I forgot to buy green apples and used fugi instead, but it still had a great taste. I don't usually like curry powder, but the combination of flavors is very complementary. My coworkers commented on how good my lunch smelled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
Loved this! I used 2 acorn squashes, since that is what I had instead of the spaghetti or butternut, and I upped the curry to 2 tablespoons. Also garnished with a couple of tablespoons of snipped cilantro per bowl. Presentation was great, and the flavor combination was unusual and wonderful. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bluestocking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Yummy! Even my meat loving fiance liked this one! It's a new fall favorite in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
This is my first attempt at squash soup. I read through all the recipes and this one sounded like it would have the taste I was craving. I was not disappointed! Roasting the 3 kinds of squash, the sherry, apples, ginger and curry, all gave this recipe a complex flavor, with nothing overpowering. I had a 4-cup box of broth, so I used half and half for the other cup of liquid. I don't like to mess with a recipe on the first try, but next time I make it I won't change anything anyway. Thanks, Verona, for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Really good!! I upped the curry powder and ginger and added a squeeze of lemon juice at the end. Served it with a dollop of sour cream in each bowl. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
A great tasting soup perfect for the winter. I used the acorn and butternut squash I had on hand together with a sweet potato I also cut in half and roasted. Topped off with a dollop of sour cream and this was a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKGEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States