Roasted Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
Very yummy- would be good on a crisp autumn or winter evening. I made the soup with only roasted acorn squash and it was very good; I'm sure it would be even better with butternut squash. This recipe is very flexible: I used chicken broth instead of vegetable stock; I didn't have any tart apples, so I eliminated them from the recipe; and I used white wine instead of sherry. I also didn't have curry powder and added a different aromatic Indian spice called garam masala. Don't be afraid to add a lot of cayenne, or to double the recipe (make sure you have a big pot though). The overall dish is not too spicy or Indian flavored; rather, it is warm and creamy with very little fat. The wine or sherry really add flavor. It's an easy recipe if you have a food processor to puree everything. Make a salad while the squash roasts (perhaps with some figs, nuts and crumbled cheese) and cut up a hearty loaf of bread. When you serve the squash soup, you could even add a dollop of some cheese. I sprinkled on parmesan, but a creamier cheese like goat or cream cheese would compliment the texture of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Verona’s recipe is delightful. You’ll get excellent results if you just do everything per her notes. It’s a beautiful golden yellow colored dish, with good tummy warming flavor. First note: As written you get a bunch o’ soup, almost a gallon in my case, so, if you build the full recipe keep this in mind. Might be a very good idea to change the serving size to smaller level before you print it all up. Verona’s very specific in her squash types. Personally, I find that as long as the squash types are all yellow, you’ll come out fine. Big note: Please, anytime you cook squash, do it in the oven, just as Verona suggests. If you boil squash you not only pull all the water-soluble vitamins out of it, you pull the sugar. You’ll be amazed to find that if you cook squash properly, it’s so sweet you NEVER add sugar, syrup or whatever. You see “add sugar” constantly in squash recipes, and honestly, it’s ridiculous. Try roasting it just once, and you’ll almost certainly agree. Oh, great “guy recipe” here, dudes. It’s not only virtually bullet proof but it has a Manly Mess Rating of at least 7 out of 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I peeled and sliced a butternut squash in half and roasted it along side a bulb of garlic, one onion quartered and 1 red pepper sliced up. I brushed the veggies with a bit of olive oil. When everything was done I pureed them together with my hand mixer (braun multi-practic) and added chicken stock. It tasted really good at that point with all of the roasted vegetables but I also added a 1 tablespoon of mild curry paste and 1/4 tsp of cinnamon and let it simmer for 10-15 minutes. I served it with a small dollop of sour cream. It was delicioius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIT123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I can't believe I'm just now getting around to rating and reviewing this soup. From the first time I made it, it has been my favorite. At the end of cooking, I add a pint of heavy whipping cream to give it a more creamy consistency. It is lovely. When I just made this I just used acorn and speg. squash. I also add several carrots that have been cooked till soft. You could actually add sweet potato or pumpkin to this as well. It would all work well with the flavors. Just work with what you have or what you can find. I think leeks in lieu of onions would also be very nice. I do up the curry and add a bit more cayenne and garlic. Just keep playing until you find your perfect flavor for your family. We tend to like things with a bit more kick and flavorful bite. This is great with baguette and a nice salad. Try it with the pear and roqfort cheese salad from this site (can't remember the proper name of that recipe, but it is wholly wonderful with this soup). Lastly, I much prefer this recipe room temperature, rather than heated. It is just my preference. It is also nice topped with cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I received many praises for this recipe from my boyfriend and his friends, who before tasting, weren't sure they even liked squash. A few changes I made: 1. Left out the spaghetti squash and used the suggested amount of acorn and butternut. 2. Substituted Gala apples for Green. 3. Substituted Sherry with a white wine. Don't leave out the apples, they really make the flavor. Great recipe! I will try it again, making subtle variations for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2001
Yum. I used more sherry than the recipe called to puree apple mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
Loved this! I used 2 acorn squashes, since that is what I had instead of the spaghetti or butternut, and I upped the curry to 2 tablespoons. Also garnished with a couple of tablespoons of snipped cilantro per bowl. Presentation was great, and the flavor combination was unusual and wonderful. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bluestocking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
Worth the time. Fun to roast squash and the aroma can't be beat. Not everyone would like this soup but I enjoyed it very much, as I love curry, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyHousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Really tasty recipe. I gave it four stars because I would have liked it to be a little smoother, but that might be from something I used instead of the recipe. I used gala apples, butternut squash, acorn squash and a frozen winter squash puree I bought at whole foods. Five stars on the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by valfaulkner79
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I thought this was a very delicious soup! I roasted butternut, acorn and spaghetti squash to make this. The recipe makes a pretty large pot of soup, so be prepared for leftovers. It has a delicious nutty, mildly spicy, cider flavor to it. My husband and I really enjoyed it. Next time I will just make sure to puree the squash a little more so there are no lumps or strings from the spaghetti squash. I will also probably use 1/2 cup of sherry instead of 2/3 cup. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valfaulkner79

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States