Roasted Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
WONDERFUL. I FOLLOWED THE RECIPE EXACTLY AND THOUGHT IT WAS DELICIOUS. IF YOU ARE MAKING THIS FOR ONLY A FEW PEOPLE CUT THE RECIPE IN 1/2 BECAUSE IT MAKES A HUGE POT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I thought this soup was great and so did my meal co-op group. Great way to use up some squash in the fall and I made it and froze it and it is a great thaw out meal in the freezer with some biscuits! I made it with madeira and some cumin and six pepper blend since I was out of curry and I thought it was great! I am making a huge bunch of it for the next couple of days to freeze up and last me until next squash season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susannah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Wow! So yummy and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Really tasty recipe. I gave it four stars because I would have liked it to be a little smoother, but that might be from something I used instead of the recipe. I used gala apples, butternut squash, acorn squash and a frozen winter squash puree I bought at whole foods. Five stars on the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I peeled and sliced a butternut squash in half and roasted it along side a bulb of garlic, one onion quartered and 1 red pepper sliced up. I brushed the veggies with a bit of olive oil. When everything was done I pureed them together with my hand mixer (braun multi-practic) and added chicken stock. It tasted really good at that point with all of the roasted vegetables but I also added a 1 tablespoon of mild curry paste and 1/4 tsp of cinnamon and let it simmer for 10-15 minutes. I served it with a small dollop of sour cream. It was delicioius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIT123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Extremely tasty, made it without sherry, ginger or curry so my toddler can eat it. He loved it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I love this soup!! I followed the recipe exactly as written and I believe it to be perfect. The flavor is so warm. It is perfect for these cold days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I can't believe I'm just now getting around to rating and reviewing this soup. From the first time I made it, it has been my favorite. At the end of cooking, I add a pint of heavy whipping cream to give it a more creamy consistency. It is lovely. When I just made this I just used acorn and speg. squash. I also add several carrots that have been cooked till soft. You could actually add sweet potato or pumpkin to this as well. It would all work well with the flavors. Just work with what you have or what you can find. I think leeks in lieu of onions would also be very nice. I do up the curry and add a bit more cayenne and garlic. Just keep playing until you find your perfect flavor for your family. We tend to like things with a bit more kick and flavorful bite. This is great with baguette and a nice salad. Try it with the pear and roqfort cheese salad from this site (can't remember the proper name of that recipe, but it is wholly wonderful with this soup). Lastly, I much prefer this recipe room temperature, rather than heated. It is just my preference. It is also nice topped with cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I received many praises for this recipe from my boyfriend and his friends, who before tasting, weren't sure they even liked squash. A few changes I made: 1. Left out the spaghetti squash and used the suggested amount of acorn and butternut. 2. Substituted Gala apples for Green. 3. Substituted Sherry with a white wine. Don't leave out the apples, they really make the flavor. Great recipe! I will try it again, making subtle variations for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
A great tasting soup perfect for the winter. I used the acorn and butternut squash I had on hand together with a sweet potato I also cut in half and roasted. Topped off with a dollop of sour cream and this was a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKGEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States