Roasted Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Wow!! I also had to use what I had on hand. I used a butternut squash, done as per directions. Apples off my tree. Roasted garlic, ground ginger. chicken broth, and a red onion round out the substitutions. The soup really turned out excellent. It really hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I simplified this recipe and used a 5.5 lb butternut squash, 1 red pepper and 1 large purple onion. I cut the above vegetables in half and removed the seeds from the squash and pepper. After coating with olive oil, I roasted in an oven at 400F for about 45 minutes. After cooling, I removed the skin from the squash and cut it into smaller sizes that could fit into a blender. I added about 5 cups of vegetable broth to the vegetable chunks so blending went very fast. I added a teaspoon of curry powder and a pinch of white pepper as spices and simmered this for about 15 minutes on the stove. I gave this to my wife, who had a mild summer cold and it seemed to alleviate her symptoms. If you're on a low sodium diet, consider making the vegetable broth from scratch (it isn't that hard) or use low sodium vegetable broth. Regardless, this is a very simple recipe to prepare. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Yum! I chose this recipe to test drive my first ever farm share, and after reading all the reviews for extra ideas. I used a honey nut squash and a delicata squash, my first time ever for these, substituted a leek for an onion (also first time), olive oil for butter (on principle), added a potato and yellow and red carrots, used local green apples, and instead of ready made curry powder, added lots of cumin, some turmeric, fenugreek, allspice, and chili powder. Also as a matter of course, I add more garlic and fresh ginger than recipes call for. White wine instead of sherry -- although I think sherry has merits of its own and want to try that next time, and used a quart of broth. Would like to experiment with goat cheese or yogurt as garnish on subsequent tries. Thanks to Verona and the folks that aren't afraid to experiment, this seems to have unleashed a creative cook from me instead of someone who has to follow word for word, measure for measure as i did the first 50-some years...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomCat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
WONDERFUL. I FOLLOWED THE RECIPE EXACTLY AND THOUGHT IT WAS DELICIOUS. IF YOU ARE MAKING THIS FOR ONLY A FEW PEOPLE CUT THE RECIPE IN 1/2 BECAUSE IT MAKES A HUGE POT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I thought this soup was great and so did my meal co-op group. Great way to use up some squash in the fall and I made it and froze it and it is a great thaw out meal in the freezer with some biscuits! I made it with madeira and some cumin and six pepper blend since I was out of curry and I thought it was great! I am making a huge bunch of it for the next couple of days to freeze up and last me until next squash season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susannah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Wow! So yummy and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Really tasty recipe. I gave it four stars because I would have liked it to be a little smoother, but that might be from something I used instead of the recipe. I used gala apples, butternut squash, acorn squash and a frozen winter squash puree I bought at whole foods. Five stars on the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I peeled and sliced a butternut squash in half and roasted it along side a bulb of garlic, one onion quartered and 1 red pepper sliced up. I brushed the veggies with a bit of olive oil. When everything was done I pureed them together with my hand mixer (braun multi-practic) and added chicken stock. It tasted really good at that point with all of the roasted vegetables but I also added a 1 tablespoon of mild curry paste and 1/4 tsp of cinnamon and let it simmer for 10-15 minutes. I served it with a small dollop of sour cream. It was delicioius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIT123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Extremely tasty, made it without sherry, ginger or curry so my toddler can eat it. He loved it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I love this soup!! I followed the recipe exactly as written and I believe it to be perfect. The flavor is so warm. It is perfect for these cold days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States