Roasted Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
MORE SQUASH, ADDED GINGER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This soup didn't seem thick enough to me. I used 5 lbs of butternut squash (2 large squash), 6 apples, 4 pears and 9 cups of chicken broth and it was still not what I had hoped for. The flavor was okay - definitely used fresh ginger for a more full bodied taste - the ground ginger just doesn't cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Centerville, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This soup is great! Whenever I make it, people want the recipe. Just a few changes, use only butternut, use 3 cans of chicken broth, and before serving I pour about 1 cup of half and half into the batch. Sometimes I serve this with sour cream on the side with fresh cilantro. Just a few ideas. So yummy!!! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I was looking for a vegan soup recipe for fall and on basis of stars, picked this one. Followed it to a t except using EVO for butter. Smelled divine, but found no depth to flavor. Guess I was missing the dairy that I chose to leave out for my lactase-deficient friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I added a bit more spice (black pepper and curry powder) at the end, served with a dollop of heavy cream in each bowl and everybody loved it! Best response I've had from a dish in a long, long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I choose this recipe for my very first experience cooking with squash. A sweet soup, not spicy. I used an ice cream scoop to take out the innards, that was simple. wondering how necessary pureeing broth was, but it was nice to 'cleanout' blender, a tip mentioned in another review here. I subbed vermouth for sherry, a roasted yam for the spagetti squash. When i taste it it feels like something is missing, very good...it just needs something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
next time use real garlic. I used the canned minced garlic and it was not good. Also, next time try chicken broth instead of veg broth. I used pumpkin instead of butternut because that is what I had. I also used white wine instead of sherry. Turned out okay, but defenitly not 5 stars. I hope to try this again with the butternut squash and other suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
It's ok. I had to add a bunch of different spices to get it to taste more rounded. I'll save it in case I happen to have these ingredients on hand again at the same time, but I don't plan to make it again otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Wonderful! I made this according to recipe, with minor changes based on what I had on hand. I used homemade chicken stock instead of vegetable stock and dried ginger instead of fresh. I only had 2 cups of chicken stock, which I think accounted for the thickness of my batch. It's perfect for chilly nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perry, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I shared this recipe with my housemate because we wanted to make a soup out of about 2 cups pureed pumpkin and 3.5 cups cooked spaghetti squash we had left over from a dinner party. Using that as the base, she made a half recipe of this and it turned out great, I really love the apple in it. Maybe a little more curry and/or cumin would kick it up a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Waitsburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States