Roasted Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I added a bit more spice (black pepper and curry powder) at the end, served with a dollop of heavy cream in each bowl and everybody loved it! Best response I've had from a dish in a long, long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I choose this recipe for my very first experience cooking with squash. A sweet soup, not spicy. I used an ice cream scoop to take out the innards, that was simple. wondering how necessary pureeing broth was, but it was nice to 'cleanout' blender, a tip mentioned in another review here. I subbed vermouth for sherry, a roasted yam for the spagetti squash. When i taste it it feels like something is missing, very good...it just needs something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
next time use real garlic. I used the canned minced garlic and it was not good. Also, next time try chicken broth instead of veg broth. I used pumpkin instead of butternut because that is what I had. I also used white wine instead of sherry. Turned out okay, but defenitly not 5 stars. I hope to try this again with the butternut squash and other suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
It's ok. I had to add a bunch of different spices to get it to taste more rounded. I'll save it in case I happen to have these ingredients on hand again at the same time, but I don't plan to make it again otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Wonderful! I made this according to recipe, with minor changes based on what I had on hand. I used homemade chicken stock instead of vegetable stock and dried ginger instead of fresh. I only had 2 cups of chicken stock, which I think accounted for the thickness of my batch. It's perfect for chilly nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perry, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I shared this recipe with my housemate because we wanted to make a soup out of about 2 cups pureed pumpkin and 3.5 cups cooked spaghetti squash we had left over from a dinner party. Using that as the base, she made a half recipe of this and it turned out great, I really love the apple in it. Maybe a little more curry and/or cumin would kick it up a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Waitsburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This soup was amazing! I did substitute white wine for the sherry because I didn't have sherry. The flavors all come through without anything overpowering, but it is so much more complex in flavor than other squash soups. Our whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Wow!! I also had to use what I had on hand. I used a butternut squash, done as per directions. Apples off my tree. Roasted garlic, ground ginger. chicken broth, and a red onion round out the substitutions. The soup really turned out excellent. It really hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I simplified this recipe and used a 5.5 lb butternut squash, 1 red pepper and 1 large purple onion. I cut the above vegetables in half and removed the seeds from the squash and pepper. After coating with olive oil, I roasted in an oven at 400F for about 45 minutes. After cooling, I removed the skin from the squash and cut it into smaller sizes that could fit into a blender. I added about 5 cups of vegetable broth to the vegetable chunks so blending went very fast. I added a teaspoon of curry powder and a pinch of white pepper as spices and simmered this for about 15 minutes on the stove. I gave this to my wife, who had a mild summer cold and it seemed to alleviate her symptoms. If you're on a low sodium diet, consider making the vegetable broth from scratch (it isn't that hard) or use low sodium vegetable broth. Regardless, this is a very simple recipe to prepare. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Yum! I chose this recipe to test drive my first ever farm share, and after reading all the reviews for extra ideas. I used a honey nut squash and a delicata squash, my first time ever for these, substituted a leek for an onion (also first time), olive oil for butter (on principle), added a potato and yellow and red carrots, used local green apples, and instead of ready made curry powder, added lots of cumin, some turmeric, fenugreek, allspice, and chili powder. Also as a matter of course, I add more garlic and fresh ginger than recipes call for. White wine instead of sherry -- although I think sherry has merits of its own and want to try that next time, and used a quart of broth. Would like to experiment with goat cheese or yogurt as garnish on subsequent tries. Thanks to Verona and the folks that aren't afraid to experiment, this seems to have unleashed a creative cook from me instead of someone who has to follow word for word, measure for measure as i did the first 50-some years...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomCat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States