Roasted Spicy Salsa Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Hubs particularly liked this but I thought it was a little flat, one dimensional in flavor. I think it would benefit from some cumin and Mexican oregano. Hubs found the cooking process on the grill fun and relaxing - a great "unwinder" after the workday grind. We served this with soft chicken tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Fabulous. I added fresh squeezed lime juice. To linda2d, not sure what you added to your recipe photo that is red???? Also, it is hard to comprehend that 1 1/2 inch slice of an onion would end up overpowering.......Maybe you used more? Just a thought...... May 3, 2010 ---- Made this again last night, this time using anaheim and jalapeno chiles, no tomatoes. Added some lemon juice and jalapeno juice from a jar of jalapenos. Went well over baked chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
We found the onion and garlic to be overpowering and did not enjoy this as a dip but we did like the flavor it added to our burritos. My poblanos were on the small side but are usually pretty hot so I didn't want to add another. The tomatillos were also small so I added a couple extras. I will try this again because I like the roasted flavor but I will probably reduce the onion or add it at the end rather than first so they don't get as pulverized. I tried to make it smoother so they may have released too much juices. SAFETY NOTE: One of my tomatillos burst on the grill and squirted hot juice at me.EDIT2/17/10 made again but minced onion & garlic by hand and added at end with much better results. BTW the red is an extra ripe pepper, nothing mysterious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This was very good. I used jalapeno peppers instead of serranos. I kept the charred peels on the vegetables for flavor. We roasted the onion and the garlic on the grill too. This was indeed spicy and had quite a kick to it, but isn't super hot. Thanks! We had a great time making this salsa and are going to enjoy eating it even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I love verde salsas but have never made one myself. This recipe caught my eye with the roasting method. I used two small jalapeños in lieu of serranos peppers since my garden is full of them. The first couple bites lacked flavor for us but certainly not heat. So we added more cilantro, a good squeeze of fresh lime and couple dashes of cumin, and some fresh oregano from the garden...much better flavor. I did enjoy the roasted flavor and if I make again I'll roast the onion and garlic also. So with a little bit of tweaking this is a pretty good salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Very good, but I needed more oomph. I added cumin & lime juice. I also love onion, garlic and cilantro so I used more of all 3. But, that's what is great about recipes, you get to personalize. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I added some jalapenos and about a tablespoon of lime juice to this recipe. I roasted the jalapenos like i did the other peppers and it was a big hit at the playoff party i went to. Great Recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Delicious! I served this as the dipping sauce for a carne asada burrito. Not having access to a grill, I blackened the peppers in the oven (with the rack in the second highest slot) which worked fine. Next time I'll cut the garlic in half and add lime juice as it was a bit thick and garlicky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This is so fresh and flavorful and serranos pack some heat! I added a little lime juice. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
This recipe is a good base. Like most of the reviewers, I tweaked the recipe a bit to make it more dimensional. I added an avocado for richness and some lime juice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States