Roasted Spicy Garbanzo Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This is 5 stars if you let the beans bake til hard and crunchy! This will take over an hour. Check them every 20 minutes and shake the tray to let them dry evenly. I seasoned mine to suit my own taste. I coated the beans with the olive oil then sprinkled them with seasoned salt, garlic powder, onion powder, a pinch of cayenne pepper and about 1/2 tsp. of smoked paprika. With these seasonings and baking them til they were hard and crunchy, made this taste like you were eating crispy fried chicken skin! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I was nervous this would be too garlic-y, but the taste is delicious! I added about 1/4tsp coriander as well. I baked mine in a small glass pyrex dish and the beans stayed a little soft, making the texture and flavor enjoyable. This is a great fiber-rich food for any gluten-free dieters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nichele
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Very good, make sure to use plenty of salt and cook UNTIL CRISPY, baking time is too short on recipe....also let cool and they will be even more crispier, kids loved it too :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Photo by MeliT
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
omg this was soo good! I've made recipes like this before and found the beans to be really dry. so i decided to cook the beans in a pot first till they got soft. then i drained them and followed the directions for preparing them. i used my own blend of spices. then i put them in a 375 degree oven for 45 min. they came out crunchy and fabulous! some of them were crunchy all the way through and tasted like french fries! the other ones were crunchy on the outside and soft and delicious on the inside. yummm! these are my new go to snack! love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Coral Gables, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
These were tasty. I may have done something wrong though because they were not crunch at all. I'm not sure if they should be. But, these are nice as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
yummy. i might play with the spices a bit for more flavour, but very good as a snack. i like them leftover cold, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
These are really tasty! After baking for 60 minutes and omitting the feta & thyme, we really enjoyed them. They're great to eat as little snacks or on a salad. We can't wait to try them in tacos, too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
good but not wow... these beans have no flavor naturally so to make them tasty is no small feat. will do again but with much more seasonings. don't be scared to be heavy handed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I didn't bake this in the oven due to lack of time. I made it on top of the stove using the same ingredients except for the olive oil and the roasted garlic. I used dried minced garlic instead. That is why I only gave it four stars. It was delicious. I will be making this again but just the way the recipe is written and then I decide which way I like it best. Thank you for this great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
It was strange at first (never had crunchy garbanzo beans before!) but with every bite it became more and more delicious! Now I crave these and make a batch every week for snacking. Love the healthy factor! So far I like it best with salt, garlic powder and curry powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States