Roasted Spicy Garbanzo Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I've made garbanzo beans somewhat like this before but never used fetta cheese...didn't use it this time either (not appealing). Just thought I'd list some of the other ingredients I used to make them more flavorful: SALT! (I can't believe no one mentioned this) Season salt, lemon juice, oregano, onion flakes, seasoned pepper and seasame oil for a nice roasted flavor...in addition to olive or grape seed oil. I personally prefer grape seed oil over olive as it has a higher burn point for cooking, fyi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This was a great way for me to use up my chickpeas. I probably should've drained & rinsed my beans better. It took quite a while for the beans to get crunchy- at least an hour. But, end result was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This was the first time i have experienced garbanzo beans outside of a pre-prepared hummus (which I love) . I opened them from the can and tasted them. I nearly ate the can right then. I reduced the olive oil to 1 tablespoon and only used 2 cloves since I knew the garlic we had on hand was very hot. I love these. I could only wait 10 minutes before taking them out of the oven, but i tend to like things not piping hot so they were absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I didn't really like this recipe straight from the oven. It wasn't crunchy enough. I did like it a lot better when they were cooled, although they still weren't crunchy enough. I would try it again but I would try cooking them longer. I would also omit the feta cheese if I was just eating them as a snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I pressed 2 cloves of garlic and let it bake with the beans instead of using roasted garlic. I served these on top of a romaine salad with onions and raw zuccini. The dressing was a mixture of lemon juice and olive oil. The flavor intensity was yum-o.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domestic Goddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This is 5 stars if you let the beans bake til hard and crunchy! This will take over an hour. Check them every 20 minutes and shake the tray to let them dry evenly. I seasoned mine to suit my own taste. I coated the beans with the olive oil then sprinkled them with seasoned salt, garlic powder, onion powder, a pinch of cayenne pepper and about 1/2 tsp. of smoked paprika. With these seasonings and baking them til they were hard and crunchy, made this taste like you were eating crispy fried chicken skin! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Dry and not nearly as flavorful as I expected after reading the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
My two year-old ate these faster than I could put them on his plate! I cut down a bit on the "spicy" part, but other than that made as directed. VERY yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniBanani

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I didn't bake this in the oven due to lack of time. I made it on top of the stove using the same ingredients except for the olive oil and the roasted garlic. I used dried minced garlic instead. That is why I only gave it four stars. It was delicious. I will be making this again but just the way the recipe is written and then I decide which way I like it best. Thank you for this great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by t_jones
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This was good , I added extra spice which made it a bit too spicy .....I should have just followed the recipe! Very flavorful and a great addition to our greek inspired dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States