Roasted Spicy Garbanzo Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I was nervous this would be too garlic-y, but the taste is delicious! I added about 1/4tsp coriander as well. I baked mine in a small glass pyrex dish and the beans stayed a little soft, making the texture and flavor enjoyable. This is a great fiber-rich food for any gluten-free dieters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I pressed 2 cloves of garlic and let it bake with the beans instead of using roasted garlic. I served these on top of a romaine salad with onions and raw zuccini. The dressing was a mixture of lemon juice and olive oil. The flavor intensity was yum-o.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domestic Goddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This is 5 stars if you let the beans bake til hard and crunchy! This will take over an hour. Check them every 20 minutes and shake the tray to let them dry evenly. I seasoned mine to suit my own taste. I coated the beans with the olive oil then sprinkled them with seasoned salt, garlic powder, onion powder, a pinch of cayenne pepper and about 1/2 tsp. of smoked paprika. With these seasonings and baking them til they were hard and crunchy, made this taste like you were eating crispy fried chicken skin! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
It was strange at first (never had crunchy garbanzo beans before!) but with every bite it became more and more delicious! Now I crave these and make a batch every week for snacking. Love the healthy factor! So far I like it best with salt, garlic powder and curry powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MeliT
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
omg this was soo good! I've made recipes like this before and found the beans to be really dry. so i decided to cook the beans in a pot first till they got soft. then i drained them and followed the directions for preparing them. i used my own blend of spices. then i put them in a 375 degree oven for 45 min. they came out crunchy and fabulous! some of them were crunchy all the way through and tasted like french fries! the other ones were crunchy on the outside and soft and delicious on the inside. yummm! these are my new go to snack! love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Coral Gables, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This was the first time i have experienced garbanzo beans outside of a pre-prepared hummus (which I love) . I opened them from the can and tasted them. I nearly ate the can right then. I reduced the olive oil to 1 tablespoon and only used 2 cloves since I knew the garlic we had on hand was very hot. I love these. I could only wait 10 minutes before taking them out of the oven, but i tend to like things not piping hot so they were absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This was a great way for me to use up my chickpeas. I probably should've drained & rinsed my beans better. It took quite a while for the beans to get crunchy- at least an hour. But, end result was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
These are fantastic! I use less cheese than it calls for, and even my boyfriend who isn't fond of chickpeas loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I cook these for about forty five minutes to make crispier. I make them about once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
These are crazy good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States