Roasted Soda Can Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This turned out great, but I did add a bunch of other seasonings & I used Sprite Zero. Will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Excellent recipe! I did a variation on this recipe by adding thyme, paprika, 2 tsp salt and instead of mixing the brown sugar with the rub I patted the sugar on the outside. It was moist and fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
The chicken tastes so juicy.. I love the crispy skin...worth the effort if you have the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I used this recipe because I thought it was neat that you could roast it in the oven, it was winter at the time, and I had only had it on the grill made by my mother up until that point. It turned out awesome. I usually eyeball my ingredients, but what I had done differently, was I added a lemon juice (from a whole lemon) to the soda I used (I think ginger ale) to the can that it roasted on, and I rubbed the other stuff underneath the skin. Either way, it was a great recipe, and I'm going to use it as a base for tonight, although I'm going to use actual beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This is such a versatile recipe in that you can use multiple liquids to enhance the flavor. I have used various sodas, beer, fruit juices, and broths. The trick is the can- it is the stand. So if you want a more savory chicken use beers, for a sweeter chicken use juices and citrus sodas (mountain dew works well) and for less complex though flavorful chicken use broths. The super tiny juice cans work great for Cornish Hens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This wasn't very good. I tried it with root beer. It is really a lot better with a good rub and a half can of beer. IMHO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nate Balcom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This chicken was bland at best, even when eaten with the skin. The meat came out moist, so luckily we can use the leftover meat for other applications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ADZELL
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This chicken was super! I did not change much, just made a few alterations. I added an extra clove of garlic, let it sit in the fridge for about 2 hours after I rubbed it down so it could marinate a little & also added a little bit of cilantro to the lemon/soda can. Chicken turned out super moist & very, very tasty. Will totally make again! ***REVISION FROM 2/2009*** In response to the slightly obnoxious post below; I only had Sprite in a 2 liter, so pulled a can out of my recycle bin (which would apparently be a Diet Pepsi can), washed it out and threw the sprite in there. Sorry I didn't clarify before, but I didn't stop to think that people would 1) stare so hard and scrutinze a pic of roasted chicken and 2) actually feel the need to call someone out on a cooking website about it. Hope that clears things up for anyone who was confused!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States