Roasted Sherry Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
This was really gamey. Even my husband, who loves everything game, didn't care for this recipe. Won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Lindeman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This has to be one of my favorite recipes ever, we ran out of dried rosemary so we doubled the oregano, and then used the basil. It was awesome. I can't wait to make this again. The soaking in Sherry really does the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
awesome! easy! 5lb duck took about 2 hours and 15 mins to roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Absolutely loved it! Had guests and was quite nervous but was great! As others said was 30 mins per lb and actually I have a fan assisted oven so took it out about 20 mins early I used the giblets to make a gravy and deglazed the cooking pan with white wine and added to gravy went down very well and none left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This was great! I made it for New Year's and we all enjoyed it (even the kids). It was so moist and the sherry added a different flavor to it. I was happy that I looked at the other reviews and saw the change in directions/cooking time. My 6 pound duck took 2hrs 45 minutes. I also took the advice of serving it with asparagus. I also made baked sweet potatoes with it. I think we all have a new favorite meal. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
FAN-TASTIC! original cooking time is right, but I backed the temperature off to about 275 and slow roasted the duck for 30min per 1/2lb. DELICIOUS. If you poke through the skin with the baster and inject the juices into the meat itself, the duck will stay moist in the fridge for almost a week as well! WILL make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I marinated the duck in Vermouth instead of Sherry because that's what I had on hand. Then I used fresh herbs for the rub. It was absolutely fantastic. A big hit for Christmas dinner. And it was so quick I'd use the recipe for duck breasts on a week night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Delicious! I only cooked my 5 1/2 lb duck for 2 hours and it was plenty well-cooked. I basted often with the sherry mixture and the pan sauce was fabulous! Like a sauce from an upscale restaurant. I was afraid the sherry would overwhelm the flavor, but it was rich and delicious. Hubby was totally impressed. It was our Thanksgiving dinner along with roasted potatoes and Roasted Garlic Cauliflower from this site. So elegant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Made this duck a few weeks ago and it was great. Very easy recipe and the taste was brilliant. 30 minutes per pound cooking time. This recipe is a keeper!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I made this for Christmas dinner. My family was not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missmiavega

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palestine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Rosemary Roasted Turkey

A moist, flavorful roast turkey rubbed with olive oil, garlic, and fresh herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States