Roasted Sherry Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This has to be one of my favorite recipes ever, we ran out of dried rosemary so we doubled the oregano, and then used the basil. It was awesome. I can't wait to make this again. The soaking in Sherry really does the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
awesome! easy! 5lb duck took about 2 hours and 15 mins to roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Absolutely loved it! Had guests and was quite nervous but was great! As others said was 30 mins per lb and actually I have a fan assisted oven so took it out about 20 mins early I used the giblets to make a gravy and deglazed the cooking pan with white wine and added to gravy went down very well and none left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This was great! I made it for New Year's and we all enjoyed it (even the kids). It was so moist and the sherry added a different flavor to it. I was happy that I looked at the other reviews and saw the change in directions/cooking time. My 6 pound duck took 2hrs 45 minutes. I also took the advice of serving it with asparagus. I also made baked sweet potatoes with it. I think we all have a new favorite meal. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
FAN-TASTIC! original cooking time is right, but I backed the temperature off to about 275 and slow roasted the duck for 30min per 1/2lb. DELICIOUS. If you poke through the skin with the baster and inject the juices into the meat itself, the duck will stay moist in the fridge for almost a week as well! WILL make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I marinated the duck in Vermouth instead of Sherry because that's what I had on hand. Then I used fresh herbs for the rub. It was absolutely fantastic. A big hit for Christmas dinner. And it was so quick I'd use the recipe for duck breasts on a week night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Delicious! I only cooked my 5 1/2 lb duck for 2 hours and it was plenty well-cooked. I basted often with the sherry mixture and the pan sauce was fabulous! Like a sauce from an upscale restaurant. I was afraid the sherry would overwhelm the flavor, but it was rich and delicious. Hubby was totally impressed. It was our Thanksgiving dinner along with roasted potatoes and Roasted Garlic Cauliflower from this site. So elegant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Made this duck a few weeks ago and it was great. Very easy recipe and the taste was brilliant. 30 minutes per pound cooking time. This recipe is a keeper!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I made this for Christmas dinner. My family was not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missmiavega

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palestine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Be advised before trying this recipe that the cooking time is very wrong. It should be 30 minutes per POUND, not per half-pound. A four-pound duck would be done in about 2 hours. If you roast the duck according to the recipe, you will end up with charcoal. My 5 1/2 lb. duck was done in just under 3 hours. I did need to add water to the roasting pan after the first two hours to prevent burning. This was the first duck I ever prepared. It was okay, but I probably won't make this again. Nothing personal - I guess I'm just not much of a duck fan. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States