Roasted Sherry Duck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
Hi we made this duck for Christmas and it was delicious, i just would have rubbed in butter or a little salt, thats all, thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
We absolutely loved this recipe once we realised that the cooking time is wrong. It should read roast for 30 minutes per pound (NOT PER HALF POUND)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I made this recently so we could decide if we wanted to have it for Thanksgiving. It came out GREAT. (Cooked it 30 minutes per lb. not 30 minutes per 1/2 lb.) We have decided to have it for Thanksgiving. So moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
An okay recipe that I probably won't make again...just too fatty. I like duck, but I think I'll stick with breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This recipe was Amazing! We prepared it for New Years. At first I was skeptical of the Sheri....but that's what made it GREAT. I did rub salt on the outside and inside per another reviewer's advice. VERY Flavorful. Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I MADE THIS FOR THANKSGIVING, IT WAS GREAT. VERY EASY TO MAKE. THANKS FOR SHARING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I made this for my FIRST at home Christmas dinner with all of my family here. Everyone was skeptical of me changing up the traditional ham, but they all loved it. Next year I will have more than one to make sure everyone gets a good taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
My husband and I loved this recipe! This was my first go at roasting a duck and I was very impressed with how it turned out. Was great with asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Brown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This was really incredible. I paused several times when I noticed there was no salt in the ingredients, and I had serious doubts about how that would go over... I was so pleasantly surprised! the taste is wonderful. You can appreciate the true taste of the duck, and the rosemary was just the icing on the cake. I used a large Mulard Duck Breast, and adjusted the recipe down to 2 servings. Warning, be careful when adjusting the recipe, because the actual preparation instructions include quantities that correspond to the amount of servings in the original recipe. No harm really, you may just have leftover rub or sherry that you won't use. GREAT, GREAT, GREAT (at least to me anyway :-) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Be advised before trying this recipe that the cooking time is very wrong. It should be 30 minutes per POUND, not per half-pound. A four-pound duck would be done in about 2 hours. If you roast the duck according to the recipe, you will end up with charcoal. My 5 1/2 lb. duck was done in just under 3 hours. I did need to add water to the roasting pan after the first two hours to prevent burning. This was the first duck I ever prepared. It was okay, but I probably won't make this again. Nothing personal - I guess I'm just not much of a duck fan. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States