Roasted Sage Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Loved this recipe! We usually roast broccoli with toasted peanut oil, but this may become our new roasted broccoli recipe! Thought my DH might not care for the sage, but he raved about the flavor of this dish. My own minor comments: I used kosher salt (sparingly). I sliced the red onion very thin, which allowed it to crisp up a bit in the roasting, which we loved. I also put the broccoli in a large bowl to coat with the olive oil - think it did a much better job of getting the oil over all parts of the veg. Since I had another dinner item to bake, I roasted this at 375 - just took a little longer to finish, but with no negative effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
There's too much salt. Instead of garlic salt, use garlic powder and 1/4 tsp salt = better garlic flavor and less sodium. Also glad to know dried sage can be substituted for fresh. Great flavor change for those of us who love broccoli anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Burien, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Really delicious. I don't think I will ever steam broccoli again. I have a hard time getting hubby to eat veggies, and he had three helpings. I only had a vidalia onion on hand, but think it would also be great with red. Might use a touch less salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
great way to add variety to broccoli....everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Not much I can say except I made it with fresh broccoli. It tasted great and there was none left over after dinner. If there is nothing left over I know it was a 'hit'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Definitely takes 30 min. Definitely use fresh garlic. Rubbed sage can be substituted for fresh, use less
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Falls, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I've made this several times with fresh broccoli and it's fabulous! I only had yellow onions, can't wait to try it with red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA
Living In: Stratham, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Love this! A relatively easy and fast way to eat our favorite vegetable. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Shambach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
this was pretty good.. bf liked it more than i did.. in all fairness, i was using dried sage (1/2 tsp).. i omitted the salt and just went with the garlic salt.. used yellow onion instead of the red.. bf said to really enjoy this you need to eat the broccoli at the same time as the onion.. not just pick out one or the other.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Waaaaayyyyy too salty. No one could eat it. I followed the instructions exactly, but what came out was inedible. Would omit most of the salt if I ever tried it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States