Roasted Root Vegetables With Apple Juice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I am not a fan of this recipe. I was very excited to try this, as my vegtables looked and smelled great, but the end product was very sour and I ended up stirring brown sugar with the vegetables after I took them out of the oven. I used sweet potaoes, parsnips and turnips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
We omitted the white wine and added a splash of maple syrup. Also added beets (which makes everything red). Deliciousness. My husband requests this dish at least once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I've made this four times now, sometimes substituting other vegetables. It's always been delicious. Last night I added fennel which worked very well. You can turn the leftovers into a delicious soup as well, just blend in batches with chicken stock, season it up (I added salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, and roasted garlic), add a some more chicken stock, and add some heavy whipping cream at the end (don't boil!) if that's your thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacob Saunders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Not bad. I didn't have parsnips, so I subbed carrots, but otherwise I stayed right to the recipe. I'm still not a fan of turnips and rutabagas, but this is probably one of the best ways to do them so that they are palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlburns1222

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Made as written for thanksgiving, but with differant veg. (pink beets red beets and carrots) I didn't even get to try it as it was all gone by the time it came to me! everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gizzysmom

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Margate, Kent, England, U.K.
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Prepared this dish for dinner tonight, and my husband and I both loved it. We rated it 10+ delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I was not impressed with this recipe. It made a TON of vegetables (I should have known better) and they didn't have a wow-factor for me. The apple juice/wine reduction took quite a bit of time. And while this recipe was easy though very tmie consuming, I don't think it was worth it. I think I'll stick to my usual way - a little agave, a little olive oil, a little lemon juice, salt and pepper and roasted. I did end up turning all the leftover veggies into a delicious spiced bisque though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This was good. I made it with just the carrots and sweet potatoes. I first coated them with olive oil and the spices, then poured on the liquid mixture (in which I omitted the butter). The mixture barely got reduced during a half hour of boiling, so I used it as is. Forty minutes is not enough baking time - after an hour they were good, and after another 15 minutes, excellent. Pairs very nicely with roasted chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I made a scaled down version of this without the parsnips or rutabaga. It came out great and is an awesome seasonal sidedish.It does come out very sweet, so I will add an onion next time and maybe experiment with some herbs and using apple cider vinegar for some of the juice. But this is a great basic recipe that you can tinker with to adjust to your own taste easily. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States