Roasted Root Vegetables With Apple Juice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I simply roasted the veggies together in a large pan, then added the juices and spices, covered and let them cook. I had intended to bring them for a holiday evening and microwave, but as the day was hot I served them cold in salad bowls with a light vinaigrette sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I cover the vegetables with tinfoil for about an hour. This steams them and they cook better. You can remove tinfoil after an hour and then bake. I have been doing this for about ten years more. Joam
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Love roasted vegetables. However, this is not roasting. If you pour the apple juice mixture over the vegetables before roasting they will "steam" in the oven an will not carmelize as desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sudspumper

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Medina, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I always wanted to try parsnips.. & you could add some pork to it, have complete meal. I think I would use chopped Granny Smith apples, don't trust apple juice + high in sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This was fabulous. I served it with an herbed pork tenderloin and it was delicious. So nice to use those root vegetables and I loved the different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Amazing recipe. Didn't have rutabaga, so made it up using more of the other vegetables. Wonderful taste. Even my husband, who dislikes vegetables and will not eat carrots, loved this. He said it was definitely a repeater - even the carrots were good! A miracle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This sounds fantastic and a GREAT way to get my toddler to like his root veg! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanderson

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Morinville, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe—the flavors are lovely, the vegetables and stock can be varied without detracting from the flavor, and the left-overs are even more delicious the next day—yet it remains only a special occasion dish for my family because it's very time-consuming to make. As other reviewers have noted, it takes longer for the liquid to reduce than the recipe states, and much MUCH longer for it to roast in the over, however that's not entirely a bad thing; I now roast this recipe covered for one hour, then remove it and toss the vegetables, and roast for another hour uncovered, tossing it once more afte thirty minutes to ensure that none of the vegetables dries out. My husband is a very picky eater and I love parsnips, so it's nice to have a parsnip dish we can both enjoy, and this dish has been a hit at Thanksgiving for the last two years, so I highly recommend it. However, as I stated above, the prep and cooking time is much longer than the recipe states, so make this dish the night ahead and just warm it up in the over before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Unfortunately, this recipe did nothing for me. The apple juice seemed like a great way to sweeten up the root veggies, but the added wine made them almost sour tasting. A similar effect could have been achieved by dousing them all in apple cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
4 stars only because it was a lot of work to prep and precook the veggies. We loved the apple juice glaze. It's not overpowering and removed the bitterness from the rutabaga. Served with broiled salmon and fresh pineapple. Wonderful meal on a gloomy winter day. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Tip for Whitney and Ashley's Roasted Vegetables

Discover a great trick for making simple herb-roasted veggies with no mess.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States