Roasted Root Vegetables With Apple Juice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I loved this recipe. I didn't use wine. I made apple juice in the blender because I didn't have any. Added only a 1/4 of butter but we enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This was fantastic! It's rare that a recipe is worthy of a repeat in this kitchen, but this is one of them. I've eaten way too much, I'm afraid. I already know that turnips and rutabegas are disgusting, so the vegetables I used were: parsnips, brussel sprouts, celery root (also known as celeriac), and carrots. I feel it's worthy of a Thanksgiving side, but for a less formal meal, I chopped up some Al Fresco chicken sausages and added them in for heating up during the final toss. A nice, easy, frugal, very filling meal, dirtying only one dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I made this with 2 potatoes, cubed and 2 carrots, shredded, only. substituted homemade beef broth for white wine. Didn't measure but estimated the apple juice, broth, n butter. I added allspice & about 3 whole cloves. Put them in a pyrex dish covered with foil and just let them steam then roast without foil in oven. great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hasan'sCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
We used this as a side dish for Thanksgiving instead of the typical sweet potato casserole dish. It was a great way to use some different root vegetables. I used the leftovers in a shepherds pie and they were good there as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I just didn't like it. I liked the parsnips and carrots but I did not like the rest. This is my first time cooking with turnips and rutabaga. The recipe was easy to follow and it was easy to cook. I just didn't like it as I said above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauconda, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Good, but nothing to jump up and down about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
YUM! I had no idea that I loved all of these root veggies!! Roasting is the way to go! I've made this several times and this last time, I took it to my husband's fire station during our Thanksgiving meal....here are the changes I made: added fresh brussel sprouts - after cutting the veggies, toss them in olive oil and sprinkle w/ kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper - roast until slightly tender - meanwhile reduce the butter, wine and juice mixture - pour over veggies and continue roasting until thoroughly done - occassionally stirring.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulia, Texas, USA
Living In: Dumas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This was good but not what I expected. I thought it would be more carmelized or candied but it really was just a roasted vegetable dish with a slightly sweeter flavor. I would make it again, just nor for Thanksgiving like I did this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Just not my thing, (no one else liked them either) It may not be the recipe, just don't like the vegetables, but thought I would try for change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Watervliet, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
A yummy addition to a fall dinner, but these portions are huge - I made half the recipe and it was enough for 8. Also, it needed to stay in the oven for 75 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Zesty Lemon Apple Juice

A light and refreshing juice with lemons, apples, and cucumber.

Roasted Okra

See how to make a tasty alternative to fried or stewed okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States