Roasted Root Vegetables With Apple Juice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I loved this recipe. I didn't use wine. I made apple juice in the blender because I didn't have any. Added only a 1/4 of butter but we enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariea Hayden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This was fantastic! It's rare that a recipe is worthy of a repeat in this kitchen, but this is one of them. I've eaten way too much, I'm afraid. I already know that turnips and rutabegas are disgusting, so the vegetables I used were: parsnips, brussel sprouts, celery root (also known as celeriac), and carrots. I feel it's worthy of a Thanksgiving side, but for a less formal meal, I chopped up some Al Fresco chicken sausages and added them in for heating up during the final toss. A nice, easy, frugal, very filling meal, dirtying only one dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I made this with 2 potatoes, cubed and 2 carrots, shredded, only. substituted homemade beef broth for white wine. Didn't measure but estimated the apple juice, broth, n butter. I added allspice & about 3 whole cloves. Put them in a pyrex dish covered with foil and just let them steam then roast without foil in oven. great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hasan'sCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
We used this as a side dish for Thanksgiving instead of the typical sweet potato casserole dish. It was a great way to use some different root vegetables. I used the leftovers in a shepherds pie and they were good there as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I just didn't like it. I liked the parsnips and carrots but I did not like the rest. This is my first time cooking with turnips and rutabaga. The recipe was easy to follow and it was easy to cook. I just didn't like it as I said above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauconda, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Good, but nothing to jump up and down about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Mead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
YUM! I had no idea that I loved all of these root veggies!! Roasting is the way to go! I've made this several times and this last time, I took it to my husband's fire station during our Thanksgiving meal....here are the changes I made: added fresh brussel sprouts - after cutting the veggies, toss them in olive oil and sprinkle w/ kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper - roast until slightly tender - meanwhile reduce the butter, wine and juice mixture - pour over veggies and continue roasting until thoroughly done - occassionally stirring.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulia, Texas, USA
Living In: Dumas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This was good but not what I expected. I thought it would be more carmelized or candied but it really was just a roasted vegetable dish with a slightly sweeter flavor. I would make it again, just nor for Thanksgiving like I did this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Just not my thing, (no one else liked them either) It may not be the recipe, just don't like the vegetables, but thought I would try for change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Watervliet, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
A yummy addition to a fall dinner, but these portions are huge - I made half the recipe and it was enough for 8. Also, it needed to stay in the oven for 75 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Zesty Lemon Apple Juice

A light and refreshing juice with lemons, apples, and cucumber.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States