Roasted Roma Tomatoes and Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
These tomatoes are fantastic!! A great way to use winter tomatoes, they become very sweet and tasty when roasted. Sometimes I only use 2-3 cloves of garlic and place the slices between the tomatoes in the roasting dish. Also I use dried basil if I don't have fresh on hand. I usually roast them the night before and put them in the fridge. Then the next day I chop them up and heat them up and mix with hot pasta, then sprinkle with romano cheese - Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIDGE55

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: May 23, 2006
I loved this! I just pushed thick slivers of garlic right into the tomato halves. I think these would be incredible with some slices of really good mozzerella melted on top. Also, I am going to make a large panfull of these, dice them up and freeze to use in pasta sauce. The flavor is just outstanding. Thanks so much, Allie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
Yummy! Instead of whole garlic cloves inserted between the tomatoes, I simply used jarred fresh minced garlic spooned on top of the tomatoes. Great with grilled ribeyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Serving this on the dinner plate was like completing your outfit with accessories! So pretty and really adds a little color and verve. Rather than using the whole cloves of garlic I just sprinkled on a little minced garlic on each of the tomato halves. Because I needed this to share the oven with the fish I was making, I roasted these at 425 degrees for 25 minutes and it was perfect. This was fresh and flavorful, a far cry from the stewed tomatoes with croutons I remember as a kid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Loved it! With the garlic cloves(lots), I tucked button mushrooms in between the tomatoes. Grated mozzerella on top for last 10 minutes. Served it at a luncheon, on a bed of lettuce with dollops of cottage cheese around. Looked & tasted great ! A keeper...thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
So tasty!!! I did add some grated parmesean cheese after I took them out of the oven. THEY ARE WONDERFUL thanks for a delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
In a word - FABULOUS!! I have made these three times now, and each time they have been great. The first time I made as written and served as a side dish. The second and third times I used grape tomatoes, minced garlic and just a little oil, lots of fresh black pepper and salt to taste. Fresh basil is key on this one. Tossed everything together and roasted. Used in a panini sandwich - wonderful, but a little messy. Last night we used these to top a white pizza - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Outstanding flavor with most tomato varieties! Have made this numerous times with different kinds of tomatoes. This time I used small Campari tomatoes (larger than Cherry, but smaller than Plum). Placed tomato halves (seeds side up) on jelly roll pan lined with non-stick foil. Placed torn pieces of fresh basil leaves on each tomato half. Sliced medium yellow onion and only 5 cloves of crushed garlic cloves then tossed in with tomato halves. Olive oil prinkled liberally over tomatoes, onions and garlic. 400 degree pre-heated oven for only 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Oyster Bay, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I was wanting to make some roasted tomatoes after seeing a similar recipe on 5 Ingredient Fix on the Food Network. So glad I found this incredibly EASY recipe. I don't why, but sometimes the simplest things just really hit the spot. No need for tons of vinegars and fancy wines all the time. I changed the method a bit. I minced the garlic, stirred it in wit the olive oil and just let it 'hang out' for a while so the flavors could infuse. I didn't have fresh basil on hand, so I just took about 1/2 tsp. of dried and mixed in the oil and garlic. I then too the tomato halves and gently tossed them with the oil mixture in a plastic bag and then poured into a shallow glass pie dish, making sure to turn the cut side up. Then I seasoned with sale and fresh black pepper. I don't think I needed to roast mine the full time, and they came out super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
Maybe someone can give me suggestions. I didn't use Roma tomatoes, but I had some "Campari" tomatoes on hand, which are in between Roma and Cherry tomatoes. Do you seed your tomatoes before you roast them? Mine came out of the oven with a ton of liquid on the bottom of the pan. I still thought they were quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

This simple vegetable recipe is an elegant, healthy side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States