Roasted Red Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This is one of my most favorite ways to make potato salad. I like to double the amount of bacon and add a few spices to the mayonnaise. Also, when I roast the potatoes, I also sprinkle them with sea salt/fresh ground pepper. The longer this sits, the better it gets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I made this based on a similar recipe (with lots of reviews) that seems to have disappeared. Anyway, it was very very good with roasted potatoes. I made lots of modifications based on the reviews of the other roasted red potato salad. Instead of green onion I roasted a chopped onion with the potatoes. I also salted and peppered the potatoes before roasting, and tossed them with olive oil and dijon mustard. I used less mayo, to taste, and added sweet relish. I'm not a huge potato salad fan, but I loved this and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Simple and good. I added some fresh chopped basil but I would think other fresh herbs like dill or cilantro would be great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lzhuber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okeene, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Just made this tonight. Very good! I did try what another member suggested and put the diced potatoes in a freezer bag & added salt, pepper, olive oil and a little dijon. Mixed everything all together really good, then dumped onto a cookie sheet to roast. Very good recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Slaughter Holt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princess Anne, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seaford, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I add a few different things to my version, but the best thing I got from this one is the idea to roast (rather than boil) the potatoes. They don't get mushy or "starchy" that way, and the roasting really gives them a richer flavor. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Y

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Wow this was good! I made this for a party I had to watch my 49er's win (whoo hoo) and not only was the game a hit but so was this potato salad! I got so many compliments and I had three people ask for the recipe. I followed the recipe exactly except for one thing. I tossed the potato's in the olive oil, salt, pepper and garlic powder before roasting. This truly was hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
My husband and I love this recipe. I quadrupled this recipe for Easter. I let the potatoes get quite crispy in the oven. They were coated in olive oil and a special salt/herb blend. (This took about 1.25 hours in the oven!) I used WAY less mayo, just enough for a very light coat. Also, used turkey bacon. Other than that, no changes and it's awesome. I have saved the recipe in my file as "The BOMB potato salad". I will surely make this again-and I don't say that too often for online recipes that I try on a whim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Delicious! Everybody liked it. I used turkey bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This is sooo good! It's not like your typical deli potato salad but I love it! I did change things up a bit. I can't have eggs so use Just Mayo (vegan), added twice as much celery, a whole red pepper (instead of the green), a whole bunch of green onions, a handful of parsley (chopped) and more bacon. Perhaps 10 slices. Just grabbed some. Didn't really count. I will serve chopped boiled eggs as a garnish for those without egg issues. And I did take some other reviewer's suggestions of coating with the Dijon, salt and pepper before roasting. This salad has a rich deep flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I made this for Memorial Day for a picnic. Rubbery, very greasy. I followed the recipe exactly....there was no saving this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States