Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was good, but I couldn't get it as smooth as I'd like (even after using my emersion blender). It was ok for a change, but I've gotta say... nothing beats Campbells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Fantastic! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I liked this fresh tasting soup. I used my own canned tomatoes (about 4 cups) and did not use the roux. It was quite thick without it. The pepper taste was subtle. I will make it again for our cold winter night suppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHCOOPER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Excellent soup. Well worth the time. I've made it a couple of times now and have figured out the changes that have made it the best yet. 1. 4 peppers. 2. 4 cups of chicken stock. I wanted a thicker consistency. 3. Didn't reserve a pepper - put all peppers in at once. 4. Used a hand blender to mix everything together. I also made mini grilled cheese sandwiches and cut them into crouton size. Threw them in right before serving. Paired really nicely with the soup. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I used jarred roasted red peppers from Trader Joes. I also saw a jar of a curios pickled red pepper, so I threw those in too. This recipe takes a bit more time, from straining and liquifying and putting it all back together, but the result is exceptional. One of the best soups I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This soup was wonderful. The only change I made was to double everything but the tomatoes and chicken broth because I wanted to be sure the pepper flavor dominated. I also did use diced canned tomatoes. It was good with the sour cream, and we also substituted goat cheese which was nice. A lot of work, but I plan to make it whenever red peppers are on sale and I've got the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This soup was great - I loved the flavor! I especially liked the little bit of a kick that the hot sauce and cayenne pepper gave the soup. I made it exactly the way the recipe said. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This soup is wonderful. I swapped out the chicken stock for veggie broth, added an extra pepper as one reviewer suggested, and only used 3 tomatoes (because that's all I had on hand). I also skipped the hot sauce and added more cayenne (personal preference). I really like the combination of flavours, have eaten it with salmon and grilled cheese and it's just fantastic... the only reason it's not 5 stars is because it takes so freakin' long to make!! If I could find a way to cut down the prep time by about an hour, I'd make this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I love this recipe. I used the freshest ingredients and it came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I've made this many times and while it does take some time, it is worth it. Instead of peeling and seeding tomatoes, I just put the blended mixture through a sieve before adding back to the pot. You can also add some cream before serving for a milder taste. Great with a savory bread and salad! It freezes well too. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States