Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Fabulous soup. Used 3 small red and 3 small yellow peppers, roasted and peeled. Five small-ish cloves of garlic, crushed. One 28-oz can diced tomatoes. 8 cups turkey stock (home made). A hefty dash of chipotle chili powder (instead of hot sauce and cayenne). And used an immersion blender to blitz. Took more salt than I thought it would to bring it up to my taste. Served with a little sour cream, and added a tablespoon of freshly grated Parmesan cheese. Had great body and was hearty without being heavy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duckiewhomp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Great recipe! I made some soft garlic twisty bread to go with this soup. I chunked up the bread and added to each bowl before serving. I topped with a sprinkle of parmesan and it was fantastic! Reminds me of Boston Pizza's version! Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
As written, I found the recipe rather too mild tasting - just not enough flavour. I ended up reducing it somewhat further and adding some tomato sauce and a little extra of all the spices. I will definitely make it again, but next time with more tomato and an extra pepper. It ended up lovely regardless but I think it will be better next time. Instead of thickening with the roux, I used skim milk powder for a bit of creaminess. I also didn't like the idea of cooking it down, adding stock THEN pureeing it (I don't have an immersion blender). I cooked the veggies, pureed them THEN added the stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Good flavor. I used a seeded, chopped jalepeno in place of the hot sauce & cayenne. A great soup for when you have a cold, like I do right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I found it quite good - tho' I didn't follow directions exactly - and tweaked with extra herbs/spices like I always. Instead of making a roux tho' - I just put in 1/4 cup of Italian bread crumbs - and it thickened up nicely - that was done on the last simmer phase.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FatCatAnna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Really good though time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juleigh Barringer Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I had several tomatoes and red peppers that needed to be used and this was perfect. I cut the amount of broth in half and did not add the butter, flour or sour cream and it was still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Very good soup. Could have used a bit more punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Oh MAN was this worth every step! YUM-O! I love peppers, especially red peppers and I am supposed to get more of them in my diet. I suppose better anti-oxidants eaten raw, but this is a fabulous way to use the delectable red pepper! Perfect on a stormy day like today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States