Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This was wonderful. My 4, 6, and 8 year old also loved it. I didn't use as much chicken broth because I like a thicker soup and I never added the hot pepper sauce to keep the kids happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I would not add as much pepper/cayenne. I didn't even add the Tabasco and it was still a bit too spicy. I added the instant potatoes at end to thicken. We really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
AMAZING! Most likely the best roasted red pepper soup I have ever had! I used fresh ingredients from my garden, using 6 peppers and about 12 roma tomatoes. Other than that, quantities were kept the same. When I roasted the peppers I left them sit in paper bags over night to really savour the juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This recipe was wonderful. It was a little time consuming but was completely worth it. It was thick and flavorful, and the recipe made enough to freeze some for another meal. I used a little less thyme than the recipe called for, simply because I am not overly fond of thyme, and used smoked paprika. My husband raved over this. Definitely a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This is a good recipe with great flavors although I think the recipe is little more complicated than it needs to be. Since you are pureeing the tomatos, I wouldn't bother with peeling them. Also, I didn't bother with the roux step, added all the peppers at the beginning,and used about half the hicken broth, pureed it all, and ended up with a rich and thick enough soup with much less fuss. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This recipe has fabulous flavor. To save time I used 2 12oz jars roasted peppers and 2 cans of Italian stewed tomatoes.Olnly used 4 cups chicken broth. Pureed it right in the pot at the end and added 1/4 cup cream. Did not need to thicken with flour and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I modified the recipe to fit my needs. Made it a little easier. Sauteed onion, peppers (not roasted) and cherry tomatoes together. Added tomato puree, veggie base, cooked and then pureed the pulp all together. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyKay

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lisle, New York, USA
Living In: Johnson City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This soup is delicious, but not necessarily worth the work. I used at least six big pots, pan, blenders, and cookie sheets to make this,. It takes around two hours to make from start to finish, and that's not wait time, you are working on it almost the entire time. The taste is good, but not necessarily worth it for a weeknight dinner, and a busy household. It is better then canned, but I'm going to search for a soup that's easier to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Loved the soup. Took some other member suggestions and used canned diced tomatoes instead (way too much work to peel, deseed) and added 4th pepper. Pureed them all, no reserving one chopped pepper. I think it's better than Trader Joe's version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Very time consuming and not worth it. I suggest buying this soup in cartons from Trader Joe's. Cheaper, easier, tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States