Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This soup is so good that my 12 year old son requests it. He likes it so much that he'll eat it two nights in a row (we have leftovers since there are only 3 of us). While it is a little bit of work and takes some time, it is well worth it to all of us. I use a 28 oz can of petite diced tomatoes, and 4 red peppers that I roast myself. I added 2 tsp of dried basil and 1 tsp of dried oregano and increase the cayenne to 1/8 tsp and a couple of dashes of hot sauce. We like it a little spicy, but even with these modifications, we don't find it hot. Excellent recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I agree with others that if you're looking for roasted red pepper taste, you should add more roasted red peppers. Also, if you're sensitive to spice like I am, I would be cautious with how much cayenne you add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Flavorful & delicious. I highly recommend this shoup. I used jarred red bell peppers (plus two fresh) & fire roasted tomatoes. Served with sour cream, but is also good plain. I pureed most of the solids and added the peppers that I roasted myself at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Very good soup. To cut down the prep time, use an immersion blender. After roasting and peeling peppers, I used one pot. Sauteed the onions, peppers, and garlic, added broth (I used veg. broth) and spices. I left out sugar and used a combo of fresh and canned tomatoes. It's hard to find a good tomato in MD. this time of yeare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGKRIS1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I love this soup. It takes a LONG time to prepare and cook. It is very labor intensive and it makes a big mess. It does taste good so I will make it again. Next time I will plan my time better. The 15 min prep time is not even close to accurate. Also, next time I will leave out the extra roasted pepper added at the end. My kids did not like the lumpy pepper in their tomato soup because they are used to a smooth soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOACHIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Followed the recipe to a T! It was absolutely perfect. I loved the toppings of sour cream (I have even tried shredded cheese and croutons with it.) YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Good soup, nothing super special. Does take a while to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I wasn't thrilled with this soup. I didn't mind the work but the results weren't worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELYNED

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This was a good soup. However I do think that it lacked a depth of flavor, and did not know how to remedy that even with a few extra additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellygrrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Nice. I went easy on the thyme and left some of my veggies chunky for texture. Thanks for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States