Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
My family loved this soup, so much better than plain tomato. I made grilled cheese sandwiches on the side to dip. I did 2 large peppers, added some basil, and no onions. And the sour cream topped it off. This is a fantastic meal, perfect for these cold winters!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Oh my goodness!! The soup is HEAVENLY. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was good, but I couldn't get it as smooth as I'd like (even after using my emersion blender). It was ok for a change, but I've gotta say... nothing beats Campbells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Fantastic! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I liked this fresh tasting soup. I used my own canned tomatoes (about 4 cups) and did not use the roux. It was quite thick without it. The pepper taste was subtle. I will make it again for our cold winter night suppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHCOOPER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Excellent soup. Well worth the time. I've made it a couple of times now and have figured out the changes that have made it the best yet. 1. 4 peppers. 2. 4 cups of chicken stock. I wanted a thicker consistency. 3. Didn't reserve a pepper - put all peppers in at once. 4. Used a hand blender to mix everything together. I also made mini grilled cheese sandwiches and cut them into crouton size. Threw them in right before serving. Paired really nicely with the soup. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I used jarred roasted red peppers from Trader Joes. I also saw a jar of a curios pickled red pepper, so I threw those in too. This recipe takes a bit more time, from straining and liquifying and putting it all back together, but the result is exceptional. One of the best soups I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This soup was wonderful. The only change I made was to double everything but the tomatoes and chicken broth because I wanted to be sure the pepper flavor dominated. I also did use diced canned tomatoes. It was good with the sour cream, and we also substituted goat cheese which was nice. A lot of work, but I plan to make it whenever red peppers are on sale and I've got the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This soup was great - I loved the flavor! I especially liked the little bit of a kick that the hot sauce and cayenne pepper gave the soup. I made it exactly the way the recipe said. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This soup is wonderful. I swapped out the chicken stock for veggie broth, added an extra pepper as one reviewer suggested, and only used 3 tomatoes (because that's all I had on hand). I also skipped the hot sauce and added more cayenne (personal preference). I really like the combination of flavours, have eaten it with salmon and grilled cheese and it's just fantastic... the only reason it's not 5 stars is because it takes so freakin' long to make!! If I could find a way to cut down the prep time by about an hour, I'd make this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States