Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Love it! Of course I made some changes such as adding roasted eggplant, adding a load more roasted garlic and sub-ed goat milk cheese for sour cream but the base line of this recipe is awesome. The more roasted everything you can use the better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This soup was a great way to use up the tomato surplus from my garden. I roasted the tomatoes alongside the red peppers to increase the delicious, smoky flavor. To roast: I halved the tomatoes, used a skewer help seed them, gave a light spray of canola oil and placed cut side down on the grill until the skins started to wrinkle and the tomatoes softened a bit. Once they cooled, I peeled off the skin, chopped and added the tomatoes as directed in the recipe. I cut down on the cooking time to account for the fact that the tomatoes were pre-roasted. My only complaint is that there was a bit too much Thyme for my taste. I'll probably cut that down to a 1/2 teaspoon next time. Otherwise, the recipe was fantastic. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Ashland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Outstanding and flavorful with a hint of spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
A delicious soup that can be easily doctored up for your own preferences. I had no sour cream so I sprinkled some goat cheese on top. It added creaminess and a contrasting taste. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I made this recipe today and it is fantastic. I used red pepper packed in oil instead of fresh red peppers and it came out great. I didn't have to thicken it but I did put in a cup of milk. Great color and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Luther, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I have been looking for a red pepper soup similar to the one served at our favorite restaurant. The first time I made this recipe, it was good but missing something. The second time, I followed it exactly but threw in a carton of whipping cream (in place of the sour cream) at the end. That was the missing ingredient! It was amazing! This is THE best soup recipe I have found yet! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Delicious soup! It is very time consuming to make but tastes so good! I added some heavy cream instead of the sour cream and blended all of the peppers instead of reserving some. I also added 3 tomatillos and one cayenne pepper for some added flavor. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Excellent soup! Simple and easy. It's my go-to tomato soup now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Very close to the restaurant soup I was trying to recreate. I modified the soup to be vegan, sugar and oil free and it was still very satisfying. Fresh peppers at store looked awful, so I used two 12 ounce jars of roasted red peppers. Used one 14 ounce can of fire roasted tomatoes. Sauteed onions and garlic in water and used about 5 cups of vegetable broth. Didn't use any sugar and used more cayenne pepper and hot sauce than in the recipe. Also didn't reserve any peppers for the end and skipped the butter, flour and sour cream and the soup was fabulous. Lots of flavor and very satisfying. I'm sure the recipe as is is good, but I saved a lot of time using canned goods and it was yummy!!! And vegan. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
really good! I didn't have cayenne pepper so I added some red pepper flakes. It gave the soup a really good kick, especially if you like spicy foods. I roasted my own peppers too, and it was definitely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States