Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I made this recipe today and it is fantastic. I used red pepper packed in oil instead of fresh red peppers and it came out great. I didn't have to thicken it but I did put in a cup of milk. Great color and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Luther, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I have been looking for a red pepper soup similar to the one served at our favorite restaurant. The first time I made this recipe, it was good but missing something. The second time, I followed it exactly but threw in a carton of whipping cream (in place of the sour cream) at the end. That was the missing ingredient! It was amazing! This is THE best soup recipe I have found yet! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Delicious soup! It is very time consuming to make but tastes so good! I added some heavy cream instead of the sour cream and blended all of the peppers instead of reserving some. I also added 3 tomatillos and one cayenne pepper for some added flavor. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Excellent soup! Simple and easy. It's my go-to tomato soup now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Very close to the restaurant soup I was trying to recreate. I modified the soup to be vegan, sugar and oil free and it was still very satisfying. Fresh peppers at store looked awful, so I used two 12 ounce jars of roasted red peppers. Used one 14 ounce can of fire roasted tomatoes. Sauteed onions and garlic in water and used about 5 cups of vegetable broth. Didn't use any sugar and used more cayenne pepper and hot sauce than in the recipe. Also didn't reserve any peppers for the end and skipped the butter, flour and sour cream and the soup was fabulous. Lots of flavor and very satisfying. I'm sure the recipe as is is good, but I saved a lot of time using canned goods and it was yummy!!! And vegan. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
really good! I didn't have cayenne pepper so I added some red pepper flakes. It gave the soup a really good kick, especially if you like spicy foods. I roasted my own peppers too, and it was definitely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Love this soup. I will not buy tomato soup from the store again. I made it according to the recipe with the exception of using fresh tomatoes. This recipe yields great flavors. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
the perfect soup for a cold day. It was very filling and delicious. I like the others used canned diced tomatoes instead. much easier and quicker and still turns out amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by e4jones
Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Very good, but also very time-consuming!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I streamlined this recipe big-time - for ease as well as to use ingredients I had on hand. In a nutshell, I sautéed onions in olive oil –added the garlic, chopped, jarred roasted peppers, the chicken broth and two cups of tomatoes I put up from my garden. (This is for the recipe scaled down to 2 servings) Added the thyme, salt, pepper and the hot sauce, but omitted the cayenne and sugar. I let that simmer for about a half hour, then had Hubs puree it for me with the immersion blender. The butter and flour were not necessary so I skipped that too. Delicious – robust, intense flavor, vivid red. Garnished it with a crostini and a strip of roasted red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States