Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This was a tasty soup! I roasted a red pepper earlier today and was looking for something to use it in. It does have a slight heat kick to it, though, but the color is brilliant. I might post a picture tomorrow. I thought the directions were a little much. So, I sauteed the onion in the olive oil for about 5 minutes and then added the garlic for about another minute. Then, I threw all of the ingredients in my Vitamix blender for 9 minutes as it has a heating function. I made 1/3 of a recipe and just rounded the ingredients up or down to make it easier. I knew that amount would fit in my blender also. I got about 4 soup cup type servings still, cutting back the recipe. I ate it with sesame crackers, but for a heavier meal this would be great with a grilled cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This soup was to die for....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Fabulous soup. Used 3 small red and 3 small yellow peppers, roasted and peeled. Five small-ish cloves of garlic, crushed. One 28-oz can diced tomatoes. 8 cups turkey stock (home made). A hefty dash of chipotle chili powder (instead of hot sauce and cayenne). And used an immersion blender to blitz. Took more salt than I thought it would to bring it up to my taste. Served with a little sour cream, and added a tablespoon of freshly grated Parmesan cheese. Had great body and was hearty without being heavy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duckiewhomp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Great recipe! I made some soft garlic twisty bread to go with this soup. I chunked up the bread and added to each bowl before serving. I topped with a sprinkle of parmesan and it was fantastic! Reminds me of Boston Pizza's version! Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
As written, I found the recipe rather too mild tasting - just not enough flavour. I ended up reducing it somewhat further and adding some tomato sauce and a little extra of all the spices. I will definitely make it again, but next time with more tomato and an extra pepper. It ended up lovely regardless but I think it will be better next time. Instead of thickening with the roux, I used skim milk powder for a bit of creaminess. I also didn't like the idea of cooking it down, adding stock THEN pureeing it (I don't have an immersion blender). I cooked the veggies, pureed them THEN added the stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Good flavor. I used a seeded, chopped jalepeno in place of the hot sauce & cayenne. A great soup for when you have a cold, like I do right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I found it quite good - tho' I didn't follow directions exactly - and tweaked with extra herbs/spices like I always. Instead of making a roux tho' - I just put in 1/4 cup of Italian bread crumbs - and it thickened up nicely - that was done on the last simmer phase.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FatCatAnna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Really good though time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juleigh Barringer Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I had several tomatoes and red peppers that needed to be used and this was perfect. I cut the amount of broth in half and did not add the butter, flour or sour cream and it was still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Very good soup. Could have used a bit more punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States