Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Great recipe! I made some soft garlic twisty bread to go with this soup. I chunked up the bread and added to each bowl before serving. I topped with a sprinkle of parmesan and it was fantastic! Reminds me of Boston Pizza's version! Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
As written, I found the recipe rather too mild tasting - just not enough flavour. I ended up reducing it somewhat further and adding some tomato sauce and a little extra of all the spices. I will definitely make it again, but next time with more tomato and an extra pepper. It ended up lovely regardless but I think it will be better next time. Instead of thickening with the roux, I used skim milk powder for a bit of creaminess. I also didn't like the idea of cooking it down, adding stock THEN pureeing it (I don't have an immersion blender). I cooked the veggies, pureed them THEN added the stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Good flavor. I used a seeded, chopped jalepeno in place of the hot sauce & cayenne. A great soup for when you have a cold, like I do right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I found it quite good - tho' I didn't follow directions exactly - and tweaked with extra herbs/spices like I always. Instead of making a roux tho' - I just put in 1/4 cup of Italian bread crumbs - and it thickened up nicely - that was done on the last simmer phase.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FatCatAnna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Really good though time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I had several tomatoes and red peppers that needed to be used and this was perfect. I cut the amount of broth in half and did not add the butter, flour or sour cream and it was still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Very good soup. Could have used a bit more punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Oh MAN was this worth every step! YUM-O! I love peppers, especially red peppers and I am supposed to get more of them in my diet. I suppose better anti-oxidants eaten raw, but this is a fabulous way to use the delectable red pepper! Perfect on a stormy day like today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Healthy version: forget sugar. No sugar in any soup needed. Forget butter, use olive oil to cook onion and that is all. You can forget chicken broth as well. Vegetable broth will do. I don't add flour as well. Flour is needed to make a broth thicker. So, if you add less water, you will need less flour to make your water thicker. The point is why to add all those ingridients if you want to be healthy and not fat? I don't put sour cream either. But it's up to you. The MOST IMPORTANT: roast tomatoes as well. It brings flavor in cheap tomatoes that you can use for this soup. (Well, you not gonna use heirloom, correct?). Bottomline, you soup can be delicious and healthy at the same time. I changed the recipe and I do it the way I described and its awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States