Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Delicious and creamy, even without the sour cream. The ONLY change I made was to decrease the amount of broth for a thicker soup. Perfect for a light dinner or even with a 1/2 sandwich. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
OMG! Eating this right now. Used 3C veggie broth and 1C chix; did not add as much broth back to the pureed toms/pepps to avoid a thickening agent. What a lovely soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Meh soup. Roasted red pepper and spicing was good but the tomato overwhelmed everything and was too watery. Probably if I had better tomatos and cooked it longer during the second step to really, really cook off all the tomato juices it could have been better. I cut back on the chicken stock to 4 cups and I still would if I had to do it again. Definitely a labor and time intensive recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I've made this 4 times & have tweaked it each time. The base recipe is solid so you can dabble with minor changes & the flavor is still great. I now make it with 3 pounds of tomato, 4 large red bell peppers and increase the garlic/onion/spices in proportion. I roast my onion & garlic along with the tomato in olive oil that has been infused with cilantro & roasted onion. I add more cayenne & hot sauce(s) to give it extra punch & leave out the butter & flour. It is tasty with or without sour cream. This is a solid recipe with easy prep. Lots of flexibility to tweak ingredients & dabble in spices without losing the great basic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Katz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This was a tasty soup! I roasted a red pepper earlier today and was looking for something to use it in. It does have a slight heat kick to it, though, but the color is brilliant. I might post a picture tomorrow. I thought the directions were a little much. So, I sauteed the onion in the olive oil for about 5 minutes and then added the garlic for about another minute. Then, I threw all of the ingredients in my Vitamix blender for 9 minutes as it has a heating function. I made 1/3 of a recipe and just rounded the ingredients up or down to make it easier. I knew that amount would fit in my blender also. I got about 4 soup cup type servings still, cutting back the recipe. I ate it with sesame crackers, but for a heavier meal this would be great with a grilled cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This soup was to die for....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Fabulous soup. Used 3 small red and 3 small yellow peppers, roasted and peeled. Five small-ish cloves of garlic, crushed. One 28-oz can diced tomatoes. 8 cups turkey stock (home made). A hefty dash of chipotle chili powder (instead of hot sauce and cayenne). And used an immersion blender to blitz. Took more salt than I thought it would to bring it up to my taste. Served with a little sour cream, and added a tablespoon of freshly grated Parmesan cheese. Had great body and was hearty without being heavy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duckiewhomp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Great recipe! I made some soft garlic twisty bread to go with this soup. I chunked up the bread and added to each bowl before serving. I topped with a sprinkle of parmesan and it was fantastic! Reminds me of Boston Pizza's version! Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
As written, I found the recipe rather too mild tasting - just not enough flavour. I ended up reducing it somewhat further and adding some tomato sauce and a little extra of all the spices. I will definitely make it again, but next time with more tomato and an extra pepper. It ended up lovely regardless but I think it will be better next time. Instead of thickening with the roux, I used skim milk powder for a bit of creaminess. I also didn't like the idea of cooking it down, adding stock THEN pureeing it (I don't have an immersion blender). I cooked the veggies, pureed them THEN added the stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Good flavor. I used a seeded, chopped jalepeno in place of the hot sauce & cayenne. A great soup for when you have a cold, like I do right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States