Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Sounds delicious but given the labor involved, wasn't worth effort. Flavor was good but there are other soups out there with more flavor where it doesn't take 1hr 40min and use up most of the stuff in the kitchen. Don't think I'll do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This was very good, though the thyme was a bit overpowering; I'd halve the thyme next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: East Haddam, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This soup tastes soo good! There is nothing I would do to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I know everyone has rated this a 5 star already, but its excellent. I found I needed to add a good amount of salt to taste it, and I went ahead and added basil, and the sour cream right to the pot instead of individual bowls. I also blended it all together (instead of straining); don't think it makes much of a difference. REALLY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meatme

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Yum! Served with sour cream, it's the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
This is a great recipe, but so much depends on the quality of the ingredients. The first time I made this, I used fresh tomatoes, peppers & basil from a nearby farm. It was the best tomato soup I've ever had, fantastic plain, or with added wild rice. I've made it since using produce from the grocery store, and haven't been as impressed--the flavor lacks the dimension fresh produce gives. It's still a great soup, but do it justice and buy fresh produce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Excellent soup! I added a little bacon and Smoked Gouda cheese (trying to replicate a soup served at a local cafe) - it turned out excellent! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIPERCAT99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I have had so many complements on this soup and I never have left overs, even when I double the recipe. I also add cooked tortellini once the soup starts to simmer. It's a big hit.--Denise--
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I made this delicious soup for lunch today with a few alterations. I used a jar of roasted red peppers, 1 clove minced garlic, 1 large (28 oz) can of tomatoes, and added 1 can of evaporated milk to the roux instead of the sour cream at the end (just to use what I had in my pantry. Hate running to the store for 1 thing. ) My husband and I really enjoyed this soup. I am sure it is probably even better with fresh veggies. I will be making this again very soon. Next time, I will puree the veggies before adding the chicken stock, etc. to reduce the time needed and to speed up the process for a busy weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethany, Missouri, USA
Living In: Albany, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This is an excellent soup!! I felt like a professional chef after serving a soup like this. I made a different soup every day this week, and this was our favorite one. To make it even more healthy, I left out the sour cream and added 1 1/2 cup of milk to the roux before mixing it in with the rest of the soup. It's standard procedure in a lot creamy soup recipes, and it worked great with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States