Roasted Red Pepper and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
This soup was wonderful. We grow are own potatoes and my boyfriend told me to find different potato soup recipes. I found this one and he wanted to try it. I added a little more flour because we like it thicker and since we had alot of Banana Peppers I added a couple of them with the onions. With them and the Red Roasted Peppers it has a great flavor. We plan on making this soup again. My boyfriend fell in love with it. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
Better on the second and third days
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
This is one of my families favorites soups!! I actually add 2 jars of roasted red peppers and simmer the soup all day. It lets the potatoes cook down and the broth becomes thicker and adds flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Excellent recipe!! I needed a lighter version of potato soup b/c mine is VERY high in fat and cal. This was wonderful...we scaled it down to 2 servings and had a cup of soup with a sandwich and side salad. I was out of half & half so I subbed skim milk instead and it worked. I used my immersion blender to cream some of the potatoes, but it still had really good texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
WOW! I used three fat garlic cloves, cream and dried dill instead of thyme. I Roasted the peppers myself before hand with a little olive oil, balsamic vineger and chopped garlic glaze. Gotta peel the skins off the peppers this way but MAN is it worth it. Best soup I made this year. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
I really enjoyed this recipe and I am not a big potato soup fan. I made it with grilled ham and cheeses and my family loved it. My picky four year old even told me that I made a really great dinner tonight. ya! score! I used 2% milk instead of the half and half, celery flakes instead of the celery, I also omitted the butter and used olive oil to saute the veggies. Delish! Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnnabonna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I did not enjoy this potato soup at all - and I love roasted red peppers. Not sure what I didn't like about it other than I prefer a creamier, thicker potato soup. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This was interesting and good. I added 2 extra heaping tablespoons of flour to thicken the base, and would add even more in the future to make it a creamier soup. I would also add 2 more red potatoes, and let them really cook down some more to add substance to the base. Overall, it was good and I would try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
my boyfriend and i both enjoyed this one! i had white potatoes in the cupboard at the time, so used 5 small/medium of those instead of red. i also had a couple of fresh red peppers, so i just peeled and roasted them myself with a little olive oil. also used a veggie boullion cube with about 1 L of water to make the broth since we don't eat meat. came out great, and there was just enough red pepper to enhance the flavour without overpowering the other ingredients. i know i didn't follow the recipe exactly, but i don't see how this recipe will make 6 servings unless it's as a starter (the pot was completely emptied between the two of us eating it as a meal with bread and we still had room for dessert). i will definitely make this one again, but if i were cooking for more than 2 people, i would increase the portions considerably. either way, great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Love this soup! I roast my own peppers, and add a touch of cumin, curry and red pepper flakes for a bit of heat and more complex flavor. I also prefer arrowroot (Asian groceries often have it) as a thickening agent instead of flour, but you can also get potato starch at the Asian market, too which works. No "floury" taste. I'm a huge fan of soups, and this is one of the best according to guests...pretty color, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States