Roasted Red Pepper and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
A definite keeper! I did roast my own peppers and also added a generous dash of habanero sauce. The soup has a great texture and light yet rich flavor. When blending, remember to do so in small batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by playsindirt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Wow, this soup is wonderful, thick and creamy and very tasty. I followed the recipe almost completely. I left out celery (didn't have any), used a teaspoon dried thyme in stead of fresh, and added an extra potato, but those were the only modifications (well, I did use fresh peppers. I just followed the directions from other reviews and it was very easy to do) Based on other reviews I was not sure if it would turn out thin (I like soups that are creamy and of thicker consistence), but decided I could always thicken it up with more flour later if needed. It turned out very thick and creamy, almost a bit too thick, when I went back for seconds I had to add some milk and heat up again. It was so thick from sitting one the stove for 30 minutes that I could have eaten it with a fork. So next time I will cut down on the flour. Next time I will also leave out the extra potato. Three is plenty even though I love potatoes. I might try to make it with half the potatoes and cauliflower instead of carrots. I think that will be a good match. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
What a wonderful recipe. I convienced my husband to try this new soup, who is a very fussy eater. Well,he went crazy for it and so did my staff at work.Everyone want's this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
This soup was great. I make a lot of soup, because it's easy, but this recipe was much better than average. I used Yukon Gold potatoes instead of the Red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
I had some red peppers in the fridge that were a few days old, and I went looking for recipes to use them up. This one really fit the bill! I roasted the peppers under the broiler and after letting them "steam" in a small paper bag for several minutes, the charred skins slipped right off; seeding and deveining is slippery but quick. I used only olive oil and I sub'd skim milk for the h&h (to save a few fat grams, of course!). I also pureed the soup -- I adore cream soups because they seem so decadent. The flavor was complex, and the color was lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I liked this, but it wasn't what I was expecting. I expected a thicker soup. Still, it was a nice change of pace. I used fat free half and half
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Love this soup! I roast my own peppers, and add a touch of cumin, curry and red pepper flakes for a bit of heat and more complex flavor. I also prefer arrowroot (Asian groceries often have it) as a thickening agent instead of flour, but you can also get potato starch at the Asian market, too which works. No "floury" taste. I'm a huge fan of soups, and this is one of the best according to guests...pretty color, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
my boyfriend and i both enjoyed this one! i had white potatoes in the cupboard at the time, so used 5 small/medium of those instead of red. i also had a couple of fresh red peppers, so i just peeled and roasted them myself with a little olive oil. also used a veggie boullion cube with about 1 L of water to make the broth since we don't eat meat. came out great, and there was just enough red pepper to enhance the flavour without overpowering the other ingredients. i know i didn't follow the recipe exactly, but i don't see how this recipe will make 6 servings unless it's as a starter (the pot was completely emptied between the two of us eating it as a meal with bread and we still had room for dessert). i will definitely make this one again, but if i were cooking for more than 2 people, i would increase the portions considerably. either way, great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This was interesting and good. I added 2 extra heaping tablespoons of flour to thicken the base, and would add even more in the future to make it a creamier soup. I would also add 2 more red potatoes, and let them really cook down some more to add substance to the base. Overall, it was good and I would try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States