Roasted Red Pepper and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I'm sick and was craving soup tonight so I'm happy to say that this soup was exactly what I wanted.. not to mention it was super simple to make. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This soup was good but we needed to add a little more in the seasoning department. I did use two jars of red peppers and heavy whipping cream because I was out of half and half. I will make this again with some more tweaking. It was great with grilled cheese! My 1 year old loved it also and that says a lot. I did blend the whole batch for a smoother soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This soup rocks! I, too added, double the peppers, and strained the soup through a colander after blending with my immersion blender. Also, didn't add the thyme. We all enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Pretty good, although too potato-ey and not enough red peppery for my taste. I put this in the blender to make a creamy soup (since, unlike the picture would lead you to believe, the directions do not say to do!). I served in sourdough bread bowls, which made a really easy meal look elegant. Next time I think I'll cut down on the potatoes and do more peppers. The husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This was soooo good! I've been on a roasted red pepper kick lately (they've been on sale at the grocery store a lot!) and so I wanted to find good recipes to use them up. I omitted the celery and thyme, used about half the chicken broth and added an extra 6 oz of purred peppers along with the chopped ones, and some salt and pepper. I think using less broth helps it to be thicker without pureeing the entire soup at the end. I had one bowl of it before pureeing, and another after, and both are sooo good. I will definately be making this again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This turned out well! I used whole milk instead of half and half, and next time I would put chopped spinach in it, but it was a nice soup for winter... tasted even better and a little thicker as leftovers. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This is one of the best soup recipes ever. I would have liked it to have been a bit more thicker but the taste made up for it. I did not have half and half but i did have heavy cream which may have been a little more fattening but it did the job. I used idaho brown potatoes and added chopped fresh parsley and added a pinch of nutmeg for an added layer of flavoring. My 3 and 4 yr old couldnt get enough of it so that says alot in its self.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ITALIANMOMOF3;)

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Pretty good! I thought the thyme was too much, so I added some parsley as well to cover the thyme flavor. Next time I'll try to make it thicker, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stylistmama
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This was very good... I made it for a crowd and didn't feel like dicing everything, so I roughly chopped everything, cooked as directed and pureed it in the end. That gave it a nice chowder-like consistency. And I will say, the flavor is wonderful the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Great soup. Not as thick as some potato soups, but that is good- not as fattening. I made it for 8 servings instead of the listed 6. We served it for Christmas lunch, and it was enough for 8 people, with some having seconds and some left over. I increased the red pepper slightly, otherwise made it as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States