Roasted Red Pepper and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I give this 4 stars as written but 5 stars with a slight change. I used 6 cups of water and 6 beef bullion cubes and left out the thyme and it was very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Ayr, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This was not the most attractive soup I've ever made (mine looked more white than red), but the flavors were great. We're big soup eaters and I will definitely do this one again. However, I think I'll puree as others did to improve the appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I'm sick and was craving soup tonight so I'm happy to say that this soup was exactly what I wanted.. not to mention it was super simple to make. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This soup was good but we needed to add a little more in the seasoning department. I did use two jars of red peppers and heavy whipping cream because I was out of half and half. I will make this again with some more tweaking. It was great with grilled cheese! My 1 year old loved it also and that says a lot. I did blend the whole batch for a smoother soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This soup rocks! I, too added, double the peppers, and strained the soup through a colander after blending with my immersion blender. Also, didn't add the thyme. We all enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Pretty good, although too potato-ey and not enough red peppery for my taste. I put this in the blender to make a creamy soup (since, unlike the picture would lead you to believe, the directions do not say to do!). I served in sourdough bread bowls, which made a really easy meal look elegant. Next time I think I'll cut down on the potatoes and do more peppers. The husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This was soooo good! I've been on a roasted red pepper kick lately (they've been on sale at the grocery store a lot!) and so I wanted to find good recipes to use them up. I omitted the celery and thyme, used about half the chicken broth and added an extra 6 oz of purred peppers along with the chopped ones, and some salt and pepper. I think using less broth helps it to be thicker without pureeing the entire soup at the end. I had one bowl of it before pureeing, and another after, and both are sooo good. I will definately be making this again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This turned out well! I used whole milk instead of half and half, and next time I would put chopped spinach in it, but it was a nice soup for winter... tasted even better and a little thicker as leftovers. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This is one of the best soup recipes ever. I would have liked it to have been a bit more thicker but the taste made up for it. I did not have half and half but i did have heavy cream which may have been a little more fattening but it did the job. I used idaho brown potatoes and added chopped fresh parsley and added a pinch of nutmeg for an added layer of flavoring. My 3 and 4 yr old couldnt get enough of it so that says alot in its self.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ITALIANMOMOF3;)

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Pretty good! I thought the thyme was too much, so I added some parsley as well to cover the thyme flavor. Next time I'll try to make it thicker, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States