Roasted Red Pepper and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Delicious! I followed the ingredients to a tee except used yellow flesh potatoes. Like most of the other reviews, blending was necessary, but I blended before adding the peppers, then partly blended the peppers in which gave more texture and flavor to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Took the advice of others, and roasted my own peppers (and will never buy the bottled ones again). Followed the recipe as is just added some red pepper flakes, a bit of rosemary. Pureed half, and delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Markham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Excellent,only changes...used heavy cream instead of the half and half and blended slightly with hand blender to thicken up some.Will make this again...over and over...a homerun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Yummy! This one is going to be a keeper. Had potatoes to use up. Being vegetarian I used veg broth and used the whole 12 oz jar of peppers. Got to the end and puréed most of it. It is so rich and delicious I'm not sure if I will be adding cream (almond milk) or not. Either way, I will be smiling. Thanks for sharing your great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Really good! Great recipe. I do think using a hand immersion blender works great for this at the end - makes it smoother. My husband doesnt care for red pepper so I didnt tell him they were in there and he didnt know. He loved this! Also, I do question the timing of putting in the flour. I did it but it immediately got chunky with the vegies. Later, I added a bit of flour with some melted butter (didnt use butter at beginning) and then whisked in some milk. I then poured that into the soup instead of the cream. It was plenty rich doing it this way and next time I will wait to add the flour. Really good idea and great use of jarred peppers (the one I used was from Trader Joes - mixed yellow and red).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I roasted my own red peppers. A bit time consuming so next time I might just use the bottled peppers. Substituted milk for cream and added hot pepper flakes to give it some bite. Forgot to add the thyme but still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I blended it and it made the most lovely colour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This is my new favorite! I did follow advice from some others...I roasted my own red peppers in olive oil and garlic, and I left out the carrot and celery(I didn't have any on hand) I did however use a dash of celery seed. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kinzy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Yum. Had 1 red, 2 orange, and 1 yellow bell pepper needing to be used up. Roasted in the oven, paper bag, etc. Upped the carrots and celery to 2 stalks each. used 6 cups vegetarian "chicken broth". Used 5 med-lg red potatoes. Didn't have cream on hand, and was intending to add milk at the end, but completely forgot about. Really didn't need it w/the extra 2 cups broth anyway. Added cumin, curry, dill, dash cayenne & red pepper flakes. Used immersion blender directly in the bowls for those who wanted it pureed (me + 2 kids) and left the rest unpureed for hubbie and son. It's good both ways. Also, threw some baby spinanch in near the end that needed to be used up (1-2 cups). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States