Roasted Red Pepper and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
This soup was wonderful. We grow are own potatoes and my boyfriend told me to find different potato soup recipes. I found this one and he wanted to try it. I added a little more flour because we like it thicker and since we had alot of Banana Peppers I added a couple of them with the onions. With them and the Red Roasted Peppers it has a great flavor. We plan on making this soup again. My boyfriend fell in love with it. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
Better on the second and third days
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
This is one of my families favorites soups!! I actually add 2 jars of roasted red peppers and simmer the soup all day. It lets the potatoes cook down and the broth becomes thicker and adds flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Excellent recipe!! I needed a lighter version of potato soup b/c mine is VERY high in fat and cal. This was wonderful...we scaled it down to 2 servings and had a cup of soup with a sandwich and side salad. I was out of half & half so I subbed skim milk instead and it worked. I used my immersion blender to cream some of the potatoes, but it still had really good texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
WOW! I used three fat garlic cloves, cream and dried dill instead of thyme. I Roasted the peppers myself before hand with a little olive oil, balsamic vineger and chopped garlic glaze. Gotta peel the skins off the peppers this way but MAN is it worth it. Best soup I made this year. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
I really enjoyed this recipe and I am not a big potato soup fan. I made it with grilled ham and cheeses and my family loved it. My picky four year old even told me that I made a really great dinner tonight. ya! score! I used 2% milk instead of the half and half, celery flakes instead of the celery, I also omitted the butter and used olive oil to saute the veggies. Delish! Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnnabonna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I did not enjoy this potato soup at all - and I love roasted red peppers. Not sure what I didn't like about it other than I prefer a creamier, thicker potato soup. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This was interesting and good. I added 2 extra heaping tablespoons of flour to thicken the base, and would add even more in the future to make it a creamier soup. I would also add 2 more red potatoes, and let them really cook down some more to add substance to the base. Overall, it was good and I would try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
my boyfriend and i both enjoyed this one! i had white potatoes in the cupboard at the time, so used 5 small/medium of those instead of red. i also had a couple of fresh red peppers, so i just peeled and roasted them myself with a little olive oil. also used a veggie boullion cube with about 1 L of water to make the broth since we don't eat meat. came out great, and there was just enough red pepper to enhance the flavour without overpowering the other ingredients. i know i didn't follow the recipe exactly, but i don't see how this recipe will make 6 servings unless it's as a starter (the pot was completely emptied between the two of us eating it as a meal with bread and we still had room for dessert). i will definitely make this one again, but if i were cooking for more than 2 people, i would increase the portions considerably. either way, great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Love this soup! I roast my own peppers, and add a touch of cumin, curry and red pepper flakes for a bit of heat and more complex flavor. I also prefer arrowroot (Asian groceries often have it) as a thickening agent instead of flour, but you can also get potato starch at the Asian market, too which works. No "floury" taste. I'm a huge fan of soups, and this is one of the best according to guests...pretty color, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States