Roasted Red Pepper and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by stylistmama
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This was very good... I made it for a crowd and didn't feel like dicing everything, so I roughly chopped everything, cooked as directed and pureed it in the end. That gave it a nice chowder-like consistency. And I will say, the flavor is wonderful the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Great soup. Not as thick as some potato soups, but that is good- not as fattening. I made it for 8 servings instead of the listed 6. We served it for Christmas lunch, and it was enough for 8 people, with some having seconds and some left over. I increased the red pepper slightly, otherwise made it as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
A definite keeper! I did roast my own peppers and also added a generous dash of habanero sauce. The soup has a great texture and light yet rich flavor. When blending, remember to do so in small batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by playsindirt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Wow, this soup is wonderful, thick and creamy and very tasty. I followed the recipe almost completely. I left out celery (didn't have any), used a teaspoon dried thyme in stead of fresh, and added an extra potato, but those were the only modifications (well, I did use fresh peppers. I just followed the directions from other reviews and it was very easy to do) Based on other reviews I was not sure if it would turn out thin (I like soups that are creamy and of thicker consistence), but decided I could always thicken it up with more flour later if needed. It turned out very thick and creamy, almost a bit too thick, when I went back for seconds I had to add some milk and heat up again. It was so thick from sitting one the stove for 30 minutes that I could have eaten it with a fork. So next time I will cut down on the flour. Next time I will also leave out the extra potato. Three is plenty even though I love potatoes. I might try to make it with half the potatoes and cauliflower instead of carrots. I think that will be a good match. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
What a wonderful recipe. I convienced my husband to try this new soup, who is a very fussy eater. Well,he went crazy for it and so did my staff at work.Everyone want's this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
This soup was great. I make a lot of soup, because it's easy, but this recipe was much better than average. I used Yukon Gold potatoes instead of the Red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
I had some red peppers in the fridge that were a few days old, and I went looking for recipes to use them up. This one really fit the bill! I roasted the peppers under the broiler and after letting them "steam" in a small paper bag for several minutes, the charred skins slipped right off; seeding and deveining is slippery but quick. I used only olive oil and I sub'd skim milk for the h&h (to save a few fat grams, of course!). I also pureed the soup -- I adore cream soups because they seem so decadent. The flavor was complex, and the color was lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I liked this, but it wasn't what I was expecting. I expected a thicker soup. Still, it was a nice change of pace. I used fat free half and half
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Love this soup! I roast my own peppers, and add a touch of cumin, curry and red pepper flakes for a bit of heat and more complex flavor. I also prefer arrowroot (Asian groceries often have it) as a thickening agent instead of flour, but you can also get potato starch at the Asian market, too which works. No "floury" taste. I'm a huge fan of soups, and this is one of the best according to guests...pretty color, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States