Roasted Red Pepper and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I love soup and this is a tasty one! It tastes like something you'd find in a fancy-pants restaurant ;) I had about 10 fresh peppers from the market that needed to be used, so I cut them in half and seeded them, and roasted them open side down on a greased baking sheet for about 15 minutes at 450*. They peeled easily once cooled. I also used only vegetable oil to saute the veggies as I had no butter (the 1/2and1/2 cream in the recipe gives the soup a very buttery taste in the end anyway!). Didn't have fresh thyme, but for spices I used 1 teaspoon thyme, 1 teaspoon curry, 1/8 teaspoon cayenne, and a dash of crushed chili peppers. It really turned out beautifully, with a bright orange color and a tasty aroma that filled the house! This is a recipe I will make again :oP Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Loved this! This soup was better than I had expected. I did make a couple of modifications as suggested by other reviewers: pinch of cumin, curry powder and cayenne. It has a great slightly sweet yet subdued flavour that makes it great as a meal. Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Excellent. I didn't change a thing, except to puree it. My husband couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Orange, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I overdid it with the broth and my soup came out to thin. So in a seperate pan, I mixed butter, cream, and flour until I got a good creamy consistency and then i stirred it in real good with my soup..........it turned out great. This is a great soup to warm the soul in the cold winter months. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
The recipe as it stands needs work. My largest complaint is that it's way too thin. Additionally, the red peppers aren't that noticeable. (It looks nothing like the picture that's up, by the way - it's not pink at all.) I'm going to try it again, but in the future, I'll use two potatoes, double the roasted red peppers, and cut the chicken broth by a third or maybe even a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
We liked this. I'd make it again if I had roasted red peppers to use up (as I did tonight). I would add more of them, if I had more, as 6 oz was not really enough to even taste the red peppers. I used my immersion blender to liquefy my vegetable medley, then pre-baked & skinned my potatoes from the microwave to the pot (because I used Yukons, they would have taken forever to just cook in the soup). I added extra potatoes, also, & mashed them in the pot with a potato masher. Served with Cheddar cheese & real bacon bits on the side. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I followed the recipe as is and this soup was okay. Tastes like what it is - butter, milk and chicken broth, very thin. I think it would be better pureed with red pepper flakes and maybe some instant baby reds mashed potatoes added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was -so- delicious. Words cannot describe it. An instant favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by venetian_lunacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I loved it! I had enough to share w friends as well. I can't wait to make it for the girls @ work! I doubled the peppers (put 'em in the blender before adding), used celery seed, dash of nutmeg, and left out the salt. Gracious, it was Heavenly. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Barr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vidalia, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This soup is good. I used more red peppers and also added about 1/2 cup fennel bulb. It is a very light colored soup, so not as attractive as I thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michiganfoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lombard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States