Roasted Red Pepper and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Excellent,only changes...used heavy cream instead of the half and half and blended slightly with hand blender to thicken up some.Will make this again...over and over...a homerun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Yummy! This one is going to be a keeper. Had potatoes to use up. Being vegetarian I used veg broth and used the whole 12 oz jar of peppers. Got to the end and puréed most of it. It is so rich and delicious I'm not sure if I will be adding cream (almond milk) or not. Either way, I will be smiling. Thanks for sharing your great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Really good! Great recipe. I do think using a hand immersion blender works great for this at the end - makes it smoother. My husband doesnt care for red pepper so I didnt tell him they were in there and he didnt know. He loved this! Also, I do question the timing of putting in the flour. I did it but it immediately got chunky with the vegies. Later, I added a bit of flour with some melted butter (didnt use butter at beginning) and then whisked in some milk. I then poured that into the soup instead of the cream. It was plenty rich doing it this way and next time I will wait to add the flour. Really good idea and great use of jarred peppers (the one I used was from Trader Joes - mixed yellow and red).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I roasted my own red peppers. A bit time consuming so next time I might just use the bottled peppers. Substituted milk for cream and added hot pepper flakes to give it some bite. Forgot to add the thyme but still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I blended it and it made the most lovely colour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This is my new favorite! I did follow advice from some others...I roasted my own red peppers in olive oil and garlic, and I left out the carrot and celery(I didn't have any on hand) I did however use a dash of celery seed. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kinzy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Yum. Had 1 red, 2 orange, and 1 yellow bell pepper needing to be used up. Roasted in the oven, paper bag, etc. Upped the carrots and celery to 2 stalks each. used 6 cups vegetarian "chicken broth". Used 5 med-lg red potatoes. Didn't have cream on hand, and was intending to add milk at the end, but completely forgot about. Really didn't need it w/the extra 2 cups broth anyway. Added cumin, curry, dill, dash cayenne & red pepper flakes. Used immersion blender directly in the bowls for those who wanted it pureed (me + 2 kids) and left the rest unpureed for hubbie and son. It's good both ways. Also, threw some baby spinanch in near the end that needed to be used up (1-2 cups). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I love soup and this is a tasty one! It tastes like something you'd find in a fancy-pants restaurant ;) I had about 10 fresh peppers from the market that needed to be used, so I cut them in half and seeded them, and roasted them open side down on a greased baking sheet for about 15 minutes at 450*. They peeled easily once cooled. I also used only vegetable oil to saute the veggies as I had no butter (the 1/2and1/2 cream in the recipe gives the soup a very buttery taste in the end anyway!). Didn't have fresh thyme, but for spices I used 1 teaspoon thyme, 1 teaspoon curry, 1/8 teaspoon cayenne, and a dash of crushed chili peppers. It really turned out beautifully, with a bright orange color and a tasty aroma that filled the house! This is a recipe I will make again :oP Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Loved this! This soup was better than I had expected. I did make a couple of modifications as suggested by other reviewers: pinch of cumin, curry powder and cayenne. It has a great slightly sweet yet subdued flavour that makes it great as a meal. Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States