Roasted Red Pepper Dip I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Following the advice of others I cut the sugar back to 2T and used a sweet red table wine. I would definitely call this a sweet, cooked salsa instead of a dip, but that said we really enjoyed it for a change of pace from our regular cream dips. Although if you like a bit of heat in your salsa wait to add the chili peppers until later in the cooking process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
very yummy salsa/dip. I did chop everything smaller and use as a salsa rather than a dip to pile onto pita chips. I made a few changes by using homemade roasted red peppers, only two tablespoons of brown sugar, and a teaspoon of extra virgin olive oil. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I didn't want this to be salsa-y, as other reviewers pointed out, so I did not put in the cumin, and instead used Italian herbs. It is good. I think less sugar next time (although I didn't put in the full amount called for originally)-its still too sweet. Fresh basil is nice in it. A bit more cooking to reduce it and maybe a splash of olive oil would make it more like what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylouise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
I have been looking for a roasted red pepper dip to replace the one I lost and this is great although a salsa rather than dip. Next time I will cut up the peppers finer and not use the blender. Might reduce the sugar by a tbls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doughok

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
This is a strangely addictive recipe. It is a cooked salsa, rather than a dip, but I like its unique flavor. The more I nibbled at it, the harder it was to stop! It was a hit at my party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I've made this twice now and really enjoy the taste - although I would call it SALSA, not a dip. The first time I processed the ingredients in my food processor/blender as stated and found this step uneccesary (became too liquidy) . The second time I did not use the food processor/blender - just chopped up the red peppers before cooking (everything else is chopped already) - the results were a mildly SWEET tasting salsa. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2004
This is delicious! I made this for a family gathering and the family gathered around it until it was gone! Many requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2004
I LOVE THIS SALSA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2002
Excellent and tasty. Love the red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States