Roasted Red Pepper Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This was excellent! Like other reviewers, I used roasted red peppers out of a jar, fat-free half and half and a bit of flour to thicken, and it came out just great. I used whole-grain spinach tortellini stuffed with ricotta and the dish was excellent! I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Very good sauce... even my mom, my toughest critic, loved it! If made with skim milk and flour instead of cream, it can be a real healthy sauce that feels guilty. The recipe does make enough foor for a cruise ship, though. A few suggestions... 1) I mixed in diced chicken (briefly sauteed in red wine) and put it over spaghetti. 2) I would add more spices. I actually put in hot sauce, very nice kick. 3) If you make it thick enough, it could be used as a dip! Cut up some pita bread, toast the slices, and dip it into the sauce when it's cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
This was good. I am a big fan of tomato cream sauces so I thought I would switch it up and try this. Def different and worth a try. I did sautee up some onion with the garlic and basil and I used jarred roasted peppers and added a few extra pieces. I also used mostly heavy cream with a splash of whole milk for the cream which I also mixed in 2 tsp cornstarch for a thicker sauce. Spiced it up with some dashes of red pepper flakes, sea salt, pepper, and red paprika. Using fresh grated cheese makes a big difference in a dish. Served over fettucini. Wouldn't it be an idea to brown chicken chunks with the onion/garlic - blend the peppers then pour over the chicken..Let that cook awhile and then add the cream and spices...Throw over pasta and top with some shredded mozzarella cheese and bake til cheese melts...Sounds good huh?? It's great to have a decent base recipe to experiment with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Great recipe. First time I made this I just bought a jar of roasted red peppers and it worked great. Tonight however I had some time so I halved and roasted my own peppers in the oven. MUCH easier than I thought and the skin just comes right off. For a sweeter sauce, I used one yellow and 2 reds instead of just 2 reds. On that note, This recipe calls for 2 peppers, but I used 4 large bell peppers (keeping the other measurements the same) and you could taste the peppers much better. Also at the end while simmering... try adding a few oz's of chopped sundried tomatoes... it adds a nice burst of flavor that is great for pasta, meat or whatever. Bottom line is this sauce tastes great on everything i've put it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
It had an outstanding flavor. Great on tortellini! I wanted a slightly healthier version and I added 2T flour to the sauting pepers and garlic and so on, and then just used skim milk. Still rich and creamy and a wonderful flavor. I also opted for not putting it into the blender and it was a wonderful, beautiful, chunkey sauce. Defintaly making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
To quote my fiance, "This is incredible!" I used fat-free half & half and jarred red peppers with very good results. I also dissolved some corn starch in the half & half before adding it to help thicken the sauce. I served this over cheese ravioli...yumm. I wouldn't make the recipe as it's listed due to the fat content, but my lower fat version didn't sacrifice the taste at all!! thanks for a great recipe :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Oh my good Lord in Heaven-please let this sauce adorn the pasta at the banquet table when I get there!!!! Out of this world good, and not that difficult to make. It would work well with any kind of pasta and I could see this sauce and pasta paired up well with grilled chicken strips. My mind reels with the possibilities of how much I can use this. THANK you Bob! It should be noted that all the low reviews changed this recipe from using jarred peppers, dried basil, to subbing lowfat milks and adding onions, broth and the like. Perhaps rating the recipe on how it is written would be helpful to those who are considering making it-then reviews could be taken at face value. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
I liked the recipe but I agree that it needed to be thicker. I reduced the cream to 1 cup and increased the romano cheese to 1/3 cup. I omitted the butter, salt and pepper. I had this in a restaurant over wild mushroom ravioli and torn spinach. It was delicious and so is this recipe. Thank you Bob!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This was excellent! I made half a recipe and roasted the red pepper over the fire on the stove instead of the oven. Then I put it in a sealed bag for about 10 minutes before removing the charred skin. The skin came off with ease. This recipe took quite a bit of time, but it was well worth the time and effort. Next time I might make one big batch of the red pepper, basil and garlic puree and freeze it. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by koala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
What is it, with such a huge portion of these people that rate recipes?? They talk about how incredible it is, and only rate it at 4 stars. Does it have to cook itself to receive 5 stars? Or, they substitute many of the ingredients, and then they're somewhat disappointed about the way that it turned out? That's a load of garbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandmas.buttons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States