Roasted Red Pepper Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I used parmesan instead of romano and doubled the cheese. I used fat free half and half instead of the regular and used a jar of sweet fire roasted red peppers.This sauce was delicious on three cheese tortellini and well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I used canned roasted red peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This. Is. Delicious. I skipped the basil, used milk and a few pats of butter instead of the 4 tbsp, and added some onions and parsley, which I cooked with the garlic and red pepper. SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This sauce is going to become a staple in my pasta repertoire. It's VERY good, very easy, and very customizable - it's good with a mix of red and yellow peppers, with sautéed onion added in, with dried basil (I'm sure it's better with fresh, though, if you have it), less butter, a touch of white wine, Parmesan cheese instead of Romano, red pepper flakes, etc. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darci Janzen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Orléans, Centre, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This recipe does not have to be bad for you and still maintain all of its great flavor!!! Instead of 2 c. half-and-half, I used about 1-1/2 c. light sour cream, and I omitted the butter altogether! The consistency was perfect and needed no extra thickening. (Other reviewers suggested fat free half/half, and while the flavor is just fine, it gets visually clumpy/pasty when cooked--not so appealing.) I added a couple shakes of red pepper flakes to give the sauce just a little zing, then served over whole wheat penne with sauteed chicken and asparagus chunks. My hubby raved. The flavor of the sauce was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Absolutely delicious! My husband loved this sauce, and said it was a terrific alternative to normal hum-drum tomato sauce. Definitely worth the time and effort to prepare. BRAVO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I tried roasted red pepper cream sauce for the first time several weeks ago at a fancy restaurant and loved it so much I couldn't get it out of my head. When I saw this recipe I had to try it. The only alteration I made was a touch less cream and crushed red pepper flakes. It was SO good my family and I couldn't have been happier with the results. Surprisingly it tasted exactly like the restaurant dish. I put this over a penne pasta with simple grilled chicken cubes. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Oh my good Lord in Heaven-please let this sauce adorn the pasta at the banquet table when I get there!!!! Out of this world good, and not that difficult to make. It would work well with any kind of pasta and I could see this sauce and pasta paired up well with grilled chicken strips. My mind reels with the possibilities of how much I can use this. THANK you Bob! It should be noted that all the low reviews changed this recipe from using jarred peppers, dried basil, to subbing lowfat milks and adding onions, broth and the like. Perhaps rating the recipe on how it is written would be helpful to those who are considering making it-then reviews could be taken at face value. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Gunkel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I followed the recipe but i roasted the peppers, pureed them with the onions & garlic prior to adding the chicken broth & I added cayenne. After the 1st 1-2 bites I wasnt sure if it was worth the effort, but then I let it cool for about 15 minutes & came back to taste it again & it was really really good. However, i'm only giving it 4 stars bc it isnt quite as good as Wagners Bakery in Olympia, WA. Their roasted red pepper soup is what inspired me to search for a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Washington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I THOUGHT THIS WAS BLAND AND JUST NOT VERY GOOD. I USED JARRED ROASTED PEPPERS AND FAT FREE HALF AND HALF BUT THAT SHOULDN'T MAKE THAT BIG A DIFFERENCE SINCE I ALWAYS SUB FF 1/2 AND 1/2 AND IT NEVER AFFECTS THE RECIPE. AND I CAN'T IMAGINE THE JARRED PEPPERS ARE THAT MUCH DIFFERENT TO MAKE A HUGE DIFFERENCE. READ THE ONE STAR REVIEWS BEFORE YOU MAKE THIS. NOT SURE WHAT TO DO TO SPRUCE THIS UP FOR MY TASTES BUT IT'S GOING TO TAKE QUITE A BIT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States