Roasted Red Pepper Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This recipe does not have to be bad for you and still maintain all of its great flavor!!! Instead of 2 c. half-and-half, I used about 1-1/2 c. light sour cream, and I omitted the butter altogether! The consistency was perfect and needed no extra thickening. (Other reviewers suggested fat free half/half, and while the flavor is just fine, it gets visually clumpy/pasty when cooked--not so appealing.) I added a couple shakes of red pepper flakes to give the sauce just a little zing, then served over whole wheat penne with sauteed chicken and asparagus chunks. My hubby raved. The flavor of the sauce was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Absolutely delicious! My husband loved this sauce, and said it was a terrific alternative to normal hum-drum tomato sauce. Definitely worth the time and effort to prepare. BRAVO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I tried roasted red pepper cream sauce for the first time several weeks ago at a fancy restaurant and loved it so much I couldn't get it out of my head. When I saw this recipe I had to try it. The only alteration I made was a touch less cream and crushed red pepper flakes. It was SO good my family and I couldn't have been happier with the results. Surprisingly it tasted exactly like the restaurant dish. I put this over a penne pasta with simple grilled chicken cubes. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Oh my good Lord in Heaven-please let this sauce adorn the pasta at the banquet table when I get there!!!! Out of this world good, and not that difficult to make. It would work well with any kind of pasta and I could see this sauce and pasta paired up well with grilled chicken strips. My mind reels with the possibilities of how much I can use this. THANK you Bob! It should be noted that all the low reviews changed this recipe from using jarred peppers, dried basil, to subbing lowfat milks and adding onions, broth and the like. Perhaps rating the recipe on how it is written would be helpful to those who are considering making it-then reviews could be taken at face value. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I followed the recipe but i roasted the peppers, pureed them with the onions & garlic prior to adding the chicken broth & I added cayenne. After the 1st 1-2 bites I wasnt sure if it was worth the effort, but then I let it cool for about 15 minutes & came back to taste it again & it was really really good. However, i'm only giving it 4 stars bc it isnt quite as good as Wagners Bakery in Olympia, WA. Their roasted red pepper soup is what inspired me to search for a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Washington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I THOUGHT THIS WAS BLAND AND JUST NOT VERY GOOD. I USED JARRED ROASTED PEPPERS AND FAT FREE HALF AND HALF BUT THAT SHOULDN'T MAKE THAT BIG A DIFFERENCE SINCE I ALWAYS SUB FF 1/2 AND 1/2 AND IT NEVER AFFECTS THE RECIPE. AND I CAN'T IMAGINE THE JARRED PEPPERS ARE THAT MUCH DIFFERENT TO MAKE A HUGE DIFFERENCE. READ THE ONE STAR REVIEWS BEFORE YOU MAKE THIS. NOT SURE WHAT TO DO TO SPRUCE THIS UP FOR MY TASTES BUT IT'S GOING TO TAKE QUITE A BIT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I loved this recipe. I used 1 package of frozen 3 peppers and onions. I also froze 1/2 the sauce because I had alot of it left over. I am going to try it with lobster Ravioli next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This was great! I made some alterations based on what I had on hand, and it turned out delicious. I cut the recipe in half too. Keeping that in mind, I used: 1 1/2 TBSP EVOO, 1 jarred roasted red pepper (whole), 2 cloves of garlic pressed, 2 tsp of dried basil, one cup of silk almond milk, a small handful of shredded cheddar cheese and 2 TBSP of flour! No butter and no extra salt and pepper. It was AWESOME!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Great sauce for pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingnVA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
The sauce is very good and interesting. Good alternative to a tomato sauce for pasta. I hurried and forgot to put butter in it and I think it is optional here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States