Roasted Red Pepper Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Simple, quick and good. I used one cup of cream instead of two cups of half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marc Minish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
My husband enjoyed this. I just put the peppers in the freezer for a bit to speed up the process. I also added some sun dried tomatoes to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Elliott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
oh dear me this is so awesome and i will make this again and again,thanks for giving this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by denise4646c

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Fabulous...best ever recipe for sweet red pepper sauce. Made the recipe exactly as stated. Yum Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I try to make it a habit not to give a recipe 5 stars when I have made a lot of changes, but the changes were mostly for the sake of food-allergies (and therefore substitutions), and the results were so unbelievable that I HAD to give the recipe 5 stars simply for being such a phenomenal base (my best friend, who recommended it, by the way, used it as written and said it was incredible). With the following changes, my husband--who hates red peppers--added this recipe to his Top Ten Favorites (!!!!) after two bites. WOW. Here is what I did: Made 4 servings instead of 8. Used 2 large red bell peppers and roasted as directed, then sauted them for 10 minutes with 1/4 cup packed minced yellow onion, 4 cloves of pressed garlic, 2 tbs. basil, 2 dashes cayenne pepper, 1/2 tsp. salt, 3/4 tsp. fennel seeds and 1 1/2 tbs. olive oil. In a glass measuring cup, I whisked together 1/4 cup spelt flour, 1/4 cup unsweetened hemp milk, 2 oz. of creamy goat cheese and 1 oz. shredded smoked mozzarella cheese. After blending the sauteed vegetables as directed, I added the cheese mixture and cooked it over medium heat while gradually adding approx. 1 cup chicken broth to thin it out a bit. I then tossed it with 8 oz. of brown rice penne pasta and spicy Italian chicken sausage (that had been previously decased, sliced and sauteed until brown). My husband ate a huge bowl of this, then asked if he could have the portions I had put aside for us to have for dinner tomorrow! DEFINITELY a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KychynWych

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightwood, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Excellent. The whole family loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Loved the sauce. Was able to copy a dish that I had to buy and now I can make it myself. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Great easy sauce. I used whipping cream, cutting down the measurement to 1 cup and added 1 cup of milk instead. I didn't add any butter at the end. A really nice change from tomato based sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Wonderful recipe! This approxmates the red pepper cream sauce at my favorite Italian family restaurant! I followed the recipe, roasting the red peppers on my gas grill, except I added a chopped onion and a 1/2 teaspoon of red pepper flakes to the vegetable mixture. After pureeing the veggies in my food processor, I returned to mixture to the pan on low heat and gradually added half and half, while stirring, until it was the consistency I wanted. I would estimate approximately 1 cup of half and half. I made the sauce before beginning the rest of the meal, so it had thickend up by the time the tortellini were ready for the sauce. I added a small amount of pasta water to loosen the sauce, which added to the silkiness of it. This was a big hit with my husband and I can't wait to make it for my daughter who is crazy for this sauce. Thanks Bob!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I also used a jar of roasted red peppers but got the ones with carmelized onions. It was wonderful on the chicken and spinach ravioli that I fixed it for. Will save this recipe and use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States