Roasted Red Pepper Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I only cooked enough for 4 servings, but used the amount of red pepper for the original recipe. My husband thought it tasted like a sauce he's had on etouffee at a Cajun style restaurant it was that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Sachse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Amazing sauce! I did add sauteed onions, extra roasted garlic (we love it!), fresh spinach leaves and roasted eggplant cubes. I served it over whole wheat pasta, since I had it on hand, served with a salad. The base for this sauce can be made in large batches and frozen for later with no change in taste. My teen sons, dad and hubby loved it! Thanks for an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Ennis, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
With the exception of using Parmesan instead of Romano, I followed this recipe exactly. It came out very soupy. I had high hopes, especially when cooking the peppers, garlic, and basil for 10 minutes. The house was very fragrant. After adding the HH and cheese, I tasted it and it was SO bland. So, I added at least a cup more cheese, salt and pepper, onion and garlic powder. Fortunately, I don't plan on serving this until tomorrow, so hopefully the flavors will mingle over night and it will thicken a bit. I will use this as a base recipe, but next time I'll chop up some onion, double the garlic, and add salt and pepper while those are cooking. I know Romano and Parmesan are made from different milks (one's goat the other's cow), so perhaps using Romano will help next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Excellent!! Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Wonderful!! Makes a lot of sauce. Sauce was bit on the thin side, but we didn't mind :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I am a tomato cream sauce fan so this was a lovely change for us. A nice light flavored sauce. I agree i would like it a bit thicker, may lessen the 1/2 and 1/2 amount next time. Great for meat free night meal. Actually it was better the next day..perhaps with shrimp?!?! Oh the possibilities!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I used 4 peppers (2 red & 2 yellow) and substituted fat free half and half with a small amount of flour to thicken the sauce. It turned out great. The family said it's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grangeville, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Overall a good sauce, but afterwards it just left a weird taste. I reduced the half & half and butter so it wouldn't be so rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Had a good taste, but could have been a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 21-30 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States